Silas Oaktree

1 books in series
3 out of 5 stars 1 rating

Silas Oaktree and the Fox's Challenge Publisher's Summary

Nature is out of balance. Two years after moving his family to an oak in a Tennessee suburb, Silas Oaktree is a robin still trying to settle in.
Here are some things he has to deal with:

A human friend with relationship problems who puts out cheap bird seed
An invalid wife to take care of with eggs about to hatch
An older brother addicted to illicit forest mushrooms and berries
The council of forest animals swaying under political pressure
A cunning fox plotting revenge
What starts with Momma Bear's cubs going missing turns into a mystery likely to throw the whole forest into chaos. Animal carcasses turn up, wasted and uneaten.
When a scrawled message written in blood singles out Silas, he is plunged into a contest of wills with a psychopath that threatens to push him to the brink. He has to put everything on the line if he is going to stop a threat coming out of the darkest heart of the forest.
Silas battles to support his growing family, struggles between hate and love for his junkie brother, helps a human hospice worker with his inability to let go, and rushes to end a deadly game with a serial killer before others get hurt. Springtime has never before been such a trying season as Silas is pushed to the limits of who he is as a bird and what he's willing to become to save his new home.
Silas is just one bird in a big world, but with friends, some unlikely allies, and steely determination, he might just be enough as he fights for his nest and the animals he loves.
©2014 Nicholas Ballard (P)2015 Nicholas Ballard
Show More Show Less
Page 1 of 1