The Nations

6 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 150 ratings

The Nations Publisher's Summary

Winner - Laramie Award - Classic Western – 2014 Finalist for the Elmer Kelton Awards.
For fans of Zane Grey, Louis L'Amour, and Elmer Kelton, there's a new marshal in town.
The Nations, also known as "Robber's Roost" and "No-Man's Land", was regarded in the latter part of the nineteenth century as the bloodiest and most dangerous place in the world.
It is the year 1885. A notorious band of outlaws known as the "Larson Gang" has been terrorizing Arkansas, Missouri, and the Nations for years. Judge Issac Parker, the Hanging Judge, orders an all-out concerted effort to capture the gang and bring them to justice.
"If they will not respect the law, then by God we will make them fear it."
Marshal Bass Reeves, the first black U.S. deputy marshal west of the Mississippi, along with his partner, Jack McGann, two other deputies, and two Indian Lighthorse, are tasked to take the youngest member of the gang, Ben Larson, on the treacherous journey to Fort Smith ,with their prisoner shackled to the bed of the Tumbleweed Wagon.
"It is not the severity of the punishment that is the deterrent...but the certainty of it." (Judge Issac C. Parker)
The Nations blends historical and fictional characters to create a fast-paced action Western.
©2012 Ken Farmer & Buck Stienke (P)2014 Ken Farmer & Buck Stienke
Show More Show Less
Page 1 of 1