The Mountjoys

6 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 86 ratings

Children of Chance Publisher's Summary

Groom, best man, guests, even a bishop - but where is the bride? An orphan fresh out of convent school, Prue Pagan has no home and nowhere to go. Then a chance meeting with her worldly-wise friend Cleo lands her a summer job in the north of England at Mountjoy Castle, where generations of the Mountjoy family have loved, lusted, and scandalised their neighbours. Prue's innocence is no protection against the wickedness of the English upper classes. As a long sultry summer settles on the castle and its surrounding villages, Prue must find her feet and make friends in an unfamiliar world of musicians, aristocrats and witchy housekeepers - and fend off the advances of attractive, predatory Valdemar Mountjoy. Will Prue take fright, listen to her heart - or succumb to the temptations lurking on every side? Music, magic, mischief, and mayhem entangled with more than a hint of midsummer madness make for an enchanting, witty, and romantic listen. Escape into another world and delight in the lives of a host of fascinating characters. This is the England of Wodehouse and Downton Abbey, where wickedness and scandal lurk beneath the superb self-confidence of the upper classes.
©1994 Elizabeth Pewsey (P)2014 Audible Inc.
Show More Show Less
Page 1 of 1