The Raj Quartet

5 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 410 ratings

The Jewel in the Crown Publisher's Summary

The first volume in Paul Scott's historical tour-de-force opens in 1942 as the British fear both Japanese invasion and Indian demands for self-rule. In the Mayapore gardens, Daphne Manners, daughter of the provincial governor, leaves her Indian lover, who will soon be arrested for her alleged rape.
©2010 Paul Scott (P)2010 Random House
Show More Show Less
Page 1 of 1