Walking the Himalayas

  • by Levison Wood
  • Narrated by Levison Wood
  • 8 hrs and 1 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Following his trek along the length of the Nile River, explorer Levison Wood takes on his greatest challenge yet - navigating the treacherous foothills of the Himalayas, the world's highest mountain range.
Praised by Bear Grylls, Levison Wood has been called "the toughest man on TV" (The Times UK). Now, following in the footsteps of the great explorers, Levison recounts the beauty and danger he found along the Silk Road route of Afghanistan, the Line of Control between Pakistan and India, the disputed territories of Kashmir, and the earthquake-ravaged lands of Nepal. Over the course of six months, Wood and his trusted guides trekked 1,700 grueling miles across the roof of the world.
Packed with action and emotion, Walking the Himalayas is the story of one intrepid man's travels in a world poised on the edge of tremendous change.


What the Critics Say

"A series as real and raw as the landscape." [The Times (London)]
"What started as a travelogue is fast turning into a fascinating and tense documentary." (Daily Star)
"Lev's been amiable and self-effacing throughout this 4,000-mile challenge.... Channel 4, you may have found a new wandering star." (Radio Times)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Like chatting with a friend

Lev is engaging and entertaining, telling the story of his epic journey in a very personal style. The story focuses on the people Lev meets and their relationship to the unique landscapes they inhabit, as they help him survive (literally) to tell the tale.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

second half saved the first half

from the first half I was getting discouraged I usually love travel books but it's one thing to be too much about him and too little about the fascinating country he was in the second half picked up and I did become engaged certainly appreciate that he did the work for me
Read full review

- Clrbrook

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-24-2016
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio