• by Nicholas James
  • Narrated by Mark Isham
  • 0 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This guide explores the county of Cumbria. The journey starts in Kendal, and moves to Windermere, Bowness and Ambleside. From there: Keswick and Derwentwater, Ullswater and Braithwaite to Buttermere, via the Whinlatter Forest. The beautiful environment of tarns and fells opens many varied experiences for the traveler. The guide includes information and histories from local sources. It visits Cockermouth, Grasmere and Rydal Mount, Wordsworth's homeland. It documents Penrith and Carlisle, Tebay and Appleby in the expansive landscape of Westmorland and makes a wide loop over to Workington and Whitehaven on the coast. The guide then moves south to Barrow in Furness, Ireleth, Ulverston and Grange Over Sands. Leaving Cumbria for Lancashire it takes a route by High Bentham on a moorland road to find Slaidburn, a historic village set deep in the Lancashire Fells.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

No customer reviews available

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-10-2016
  • Publisher: Cv Publications