Yaqui Delgado Wants to Kick Your Ass

  • by Meg Medina
  • Narrated by Roxanne Hernandez
  • 6 hrs and 50 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

"Yaqui Delgado wants to kick your ass." That’s what some girl tells Piddy Sanchez one morning before school. Too bad Piddy doesn’t even know who Yaqui Delgado is, let alone what she’s done to piss her off. All Piddy knows is that Yaqui hates her - and she better watch her back because Yaqui isn’t kidding around. At first Piddy just focuses on trying to find out more about the father she’s never met and how to balance honors courses with her weekend job at the neighborhood hair salon. But as the harassment escalates, avoiding Yaqui and her gang starts to take over Piddy’s life. Is there any way for Piddy to survive without closing herself off and running away from her problems?
In this poignant and all-too-realistic story from award-winning author Meg Medina, Piddy is forced to decide exactly who she is versus who others are trying to make her become - and ultimately discovers a rhythm that is all her own.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Good read for teens

I liked it but at times it turned a little preachy. I really enjoyed the part where Piedad starts transforming into her mother's worst nightmare but I thought if she got out of it too soon, perhaps a little bit more of the darkness could've been explored. Still it might be helpful for kids in that same situation. I missed knowing a little bit more about Jackie too, And wonder what life was going to be for her in the world. Still it was entertaining and a different take on the experience of being Latino in the United States.
Read full review

- Catalina Hoyos

Great easy read

While this book is meant for young readers, I was assigned it is an easy read for one of my University classes. I truly enjoyed this story and recommended for both adults and young adults! the story reflects a situation that is be true for many young adults.
Read full review

- Kori

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-12-2013
  • Publisher: Candlewick on Brilliance Audio