Regular price: $25.20

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $25.20

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The must-have guide for any fan of number one New York Times best-selling fantasy author Tamora Pierce! Enter the world of Tortall in this audiobook guide, brought to you by the author who Sarah J. Maas says "shaped [her] not only as a young writer but also as a young woman" and whom Leigh Bardugo calls "the real lioness".
The secrets of Tortall are revealed....
As Tortall's spymaster, George Cooper has sensitive documents from all corners of the realm. When Alanna sends him a surprising letter, he cleans out his office and discovers letters from when King Jonathan and Queen Thayet first ascended the throne, notes on creating the Shadow Service of spies, threat-level profiles on favorite characters, Daine's notes on immortals, as well as family papers, such as Aly's first report as a young spy and Neal's lessons with the Lioness. This rich guide also includes the first official timeline of Tortallan events from when it became a sovereign nation to the year Aly gives birth to triplets. Part history, part spy training manual, and entirely fascinating, this beautiful guide is ideal for anyone who loves Alanna, King Jonathan, Queen Thayet, Kel, Neal, Aly, Thom, Daine, Numair, and the unforgettable world of Tortall!
©2017 Tamora Pierce (P)2017 Listening Library
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Tamora Pierce creates epic worlds populated by girls and women of bravery, heart, and strength. Her work inspired a generation of writers and continues to inspire us." (Holly Black, number one New York Times best-selling author)
"Few authors can slay so effectively with a single sentence - I mean fist-in-the-air, shouting-at-my-book slay - as Tamora Pierce. All these years later, I still draw strength from her words." (Marie Lu, number one New York Times best-selling author)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Amazon Customer on 01-02-18

Get the book

Where does Tortall: A Spy's Guide rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

This book needs to be read, not listened to. The narrator and actors are all great, but his is a book you need to be able to go back through to cross reference dates and people.

What other book might you compare Tortall: A Spy's Guide to and why?


What do you think the narrator could have done better?

It is basically a group of short stories that go through 50 years of time. It was interesting to listen to the stories, but I would prefer being about to jump back and forth between stories (and the books from that time frame).

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

There is a story where George's daughter saves his life.

Any additional comments?

I love Tamora Pierce and all her books. I have read and/or listened to everyone one. I have purchased this book in print because I will want to reference things when re-reading the books.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Mina on 02-08-18

An Interesting Perspective

I enjoyed hearing the intricate weaving of the stories of Tortall. The only thing I didn't like were (as I perceived them) occasional mispronunciations of names; despite that it was still worth listening to.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc