Regular price: $29.65

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $29.65

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

There's no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains - and friends or enemies - with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.
Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city - a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent - but he's one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music.
When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who's just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August's secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives.
In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side - including the monsters within.
©2016 Victoria Schwab (P)2016 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By PapaFrer on 07-20-16

Another triumph

After a slow beginning (about the first hour), the story coalesced and VS wound together terrific characters in a darker than expected tale.

I look forward to the next installment, although this book more than stands on its own.

Highly recommend but steer toward later teens +

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful


By Ultranoah on 11-14-16

Not worth its good reviews

I'm not sure how this book received so many five-star ratings and such positive reviews. There was hardly any story and the characters were forgettable. I suppose the overall concept was somewhat interesting but in some ways it was also cheesy. The main monster uses a violin as a "weapon". lame. I guess for a book aimed at teen-agers, it works, but then why did the author decide halfway through the boom to start throwing out so many f-bombs and other profanities for no reason. The writing was OK at best, and the audible narrator got a little too emotional at times, but I made it through to the end. I don't care about what happens next and won't read the second book.

Read More Hide me

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc