This Country of Ours, Part 2 : This Country of Ours

  • by Henrietta Marshall
  • Narrated by David Thorn, Bobbie Frohman
  • Series: This Country of Ours
  • 2 hrs and 28 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

This Series, in seven parts, tells the story of America from the earliest founding through the days of Woodrow Wilson and The Great War (World War I). In Part 2, you'll hear stories of the settlement of the Virginia Colony.
1. The Adventures of Captain John Smith
2. More Adventures of Captain John Smith
3. How the Colony Was Saved
4. How Pocahontas Took a Journey Over the Seas
5. How the Redmen Fought Against Their White Brothers
6. How Englishmen Fought a Duel with Tyranny
7. The Coming of the Cavaliers
8. Bacon's Rebellion
9. The Story of the Knights of the Golden Horseshoe
Henrietta Elizabeth Marshall (1867 – 1941) was a British author, most famous for her works of history for children.
For decades, Marshall's books were ubiquitous in schools and home libraries. Much of the popularity of her works stems from her talent for making history read like good storytelling.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A little disappointing

I was excited to find this for my 9 year old daughter who loves listening to the first part which we got from librivox. However - this recording is not divided up into chapters making it very difficult for her to listen to. She can't stop it and then start again unless she writes down the time she stopped it and honestly for her age - that just doesn't happen. I'm actually a little bummed I used a credit on it - though I will probably still get the other parts because my daughter still likes the story line - I hope they change it.
Read full review

- Dana

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-12-2008
  • Publisher: Alcazar AudioWorks