Regular price: $25.09

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $25.09

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Adam Silvera reminds us that there’s no life without death and no love without loss in this devastating yet uplifting story about two people whose lives change over the course of one unforgettable day.
New York Times bestseller * 4 starred reviews * A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * A Kirkus Best Book of the Year * A Booklist Editors' Choice of 2017 * A Bustle Best YA Novel of 2017 * A Paste Magazine Best YA Book of 2017 * A Book Riot Best Queer Book of 2017 * A Buzzfeed Best YA Book of the Year * A BookPage Best YA Book of the Year
On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They’re going to die today.
Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they’re both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There’s an app for that. It’s called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure—to live a lifetime in a single day.
In the tradition of Before I Fall and If I Stay, They Both Die at the End is a tour de force from acclaimed author Adam Silvera, whose debut, More Happy Than Not, the New York Times called “profound.”
©2017 Adam Silvera (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Jeffrey veals on 02-28-18

You try and prep yourself, but it won't help.....

This book is super emotional for me, because it's reminds me of personal stuff; that being said, I can see people enjoying the book and not having this crazy personal reaction and cry like a baby (like I did). I did say in my title for the review that you know what's going to happen. A book has never just laid it out there like this (as far as I know), but you still can't help falling in love with the two major and all the minor characters. Adam Silvera painted a picture so beautifully with his characters, but also this world. Death-Cast calls every person that is going to die that day between midnight and three. The point is so each individual will have that opportunity to do the things they put off and to say their final goodbyes. Whether, in reality, this is a good thing or not, I'm not even going to say. It's just the world Mr. Silvera puts the reader in.

Mateo and Rufus meet through "The Last Friend" phone application, which gets people who want to just hook up on their last day, one man who claims to have "the cure for death in his pants," people who are not dying who want to be there for others, and many more. Mateo is a very shy and sheltered eighteen-year-old, who feels like he spent his life playing it too safe when he gets the call from Death-Cast. Rufus is in the middle of beating up his ex-girlfriend's new boyfriend when he gets the call. When he's doing his own funeral with his foster family and gang, the cops have been called and he's forced to flee his friends in order to not spend his last day in jail. He finds the app and Mateo reaches out to him and they meet. They start their day and do things that are awful and things that are great, but they end up doing things for each other that they never thought could happen.

The voice acting was stellar. I'm a huge fan of Michael Crouch, but this is the first time I've heard Robbie Daymond and Bahni Turpin. All three made this story so wonderful that I gave them 5 stars. As far as my personal rating, I give Michael Crouch an A, Robbie Daymond an A-, and Bahni Turpin a B+. The only reason why I'm giving Ms. Turpin a lower score is that I found parts of her performance to be stilted, but she did have to play everyone else who was not Mateo or Rufus. Still, I think she could've done a slightly better job.

The Book, for me, is going to get a B+, which is a totally different way of judging than how I look at narrators. This book was great and I enjoyed most of it. For me, the books that get 5's or A's in my system only happen 1-3 times a year. This was a solid book and did exactly what it was supposed to do, but I cannot say that it was in the top five. It is definitely something that should be read and I think it shows a version of a M/M relationship that isn't as "offensive" to a conservative audience. While I find LGBT books to be fine in general, I think some can be offended by stupid things like two boys who kiss or something like that. So, this is a book that should be read; it has lessons about regrets, last days, and so much more. I think this book is an important one and I really hope that people can give this book a chance.

Read More Hide me

11 of 11 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Spaceman Stan on 09-14-17

Tear jerker Performance

The tale is a beautiful story of connection and giving life a second chance. It meets all the requisites of a great narration, subtle ruses and emotionally inclined.

Read More Hide me

10 of 10 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Linda on 05-02-18

They both die at the end

I profoundly loved this book, it has an interesting story, with a great concept, fantastic and relatable characters, and you don't want to stop reading, even though you know sadness will come and make you cry. The end is not important however, it is all about Rufus and Mateo, and their one last epic day to live and be brave. Read it, it repays every tear with a hundred smiles.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Anonymous User on 06-21-18

Such a beautiful book

I loved every minute of it. I was suprised how much the writer could write about a single day, it was beautiful and tragic story. Even though I knew they were going to die from the beginning I fell in love with the charecters. The writer brought so much emotion into the story and really gave the charecters a personality. I would definitely recommend this book.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Kindle Cat on 05-23-18

Gripping and thought provoking

I couldn’t stop listening. Just because we know the ending doesn’t give away how, what and where.
The love story was simple and sweet but wasn’t the main premise of the book but was part of the characters’ change and development.
The question is is our fate set or were they pushed?

Read More Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Jacob on 04-27-18

So Emotional

I loved this book! Although in the beginning it was a bit hard to get into, with both the main characters being quite dislikeable, as you work through the book and Mateo and Rufus start living out their last day, you start to love the characters more and more, which only makes the ending all the more poignant. I highly recommend this!

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews