These Shallow Graves

  • by Jennifer Donnelly
  • Narrated by Kim Bubbs
  • 13 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

From Jennifer Donnelly, the critically acclaimed New York Times best-selling author of A Northern Light and Revolution, comes a mystery about dark secrets, dirty truths, and the lengths to which people will go for love and revenge. For fans of Elizabeth George and Libba Bray, These Shallow Graves is the story of how much a young woman is willing to risk and lose in order to find the truth.
Jo Montfort is beautiful and rich, and soon - like all the girls in her class - she'll graduate from finishing school and be married off to a wealthy bachelor. Which is the last thing she wants. Jo dreams of becoming a writer - a newspaper reporter like the trailblazing Nellie Bly.
Wild aspirations aside, Jo's life seems perfect until tragedy strikes: Her father is found dead. Charles Montfort shot himself while cleaning his pistol. One of New York City's wealthiest men, he owned a newspaper and was a partner in a massive shipping firm, and Jo knows he was far too smart to clean a loaded gun.
The more Jo hears about her father's death, the more something feels wrong. Suicide is the only logical explanation, and of course people have started talking, but Jo's father would never have resorted to that. And then she meets Eddie - a young, smart, infuriatingly handsome reporter at her father's newspaper - and it becomes all too clear how much she stands to lose if she keeps searching for the truth. But now it might be too late to stop.
The past never stays buried forever. Life is dirtier than Jo Montfort could ever have imagined, and this time the truth is the dirtiest part of all.

More

What the Critics Say

"Fast-paced and thrilling...a smart, insightful, timely depiction of a young woman poised on the brink of a new world after the shattering of another." (Booklist)
"Action-packed chapters propel this compelling mystery...[and] the injustices Donnelly highlights remain all too relevant." (Publishers Weekly)
"A beautifully written mystery." (School Library Journal)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Take a pass on this one!

It's hard to believe that "The Tea Rose Series" was written by the same writer who wrote this book.
The writing is amateurish, stilted and unrealistic.
If this is historical fiction, then fiction is the operative word. The main character, Josephine, behaves and speaks like a 21 century young woman...not one from the 1880's. As is her outlandish behavior.
There is plenty of murder and "mystery" which can be figured out very quickly. All very predictable.
I gave this only 1 star, but I'd have preferred 0 stars!!!
The narrator was just as bad as the writing. She sounded as if she was trying out for a high school play, and doing it very poorly!!!!
Read full review

- Ruth M. Penson "Ruth"

Not Her Best Book

What could have made this a 4 or 5-star listening experience for you?

I love Jennifer Donnelly's other works theTea Rose series was phenomenal, and Revolution was good but I think since she has started writing those Disney mermaid books her writing style has been lacking it's old gusto.


How could the performance have been better?

The narration was terrible, the girl's voice always sounded whiny.


Any additional comments?

I hope this author will start writing for adults again.

Read full review

- Christine

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-27-2015
  • Publisher: Listening Library