The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B

  • by Teresa Toten
  • Narrated by Johnathan McClain
  • 7 hrs and 33 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Deep, understated, and wise, this engaging YA novel, winner of the Governor General's Award in Canada, is about more than the tough issue of teens dealing with obsessive-compulsive order. It also has romance, and a whodunit element that will keep listeners guessing. Perfect for readers who love Eleanor & Park!
Adam Spencer Ross is almost 15, and he's got his hands full confronting the everyday problems that come with having divorced parents and a stepsibling. Add to that his obsessive-compulsive disorder and it's just about impossible for him to imagine ever falling in love. Adam's life changes, however, the instant he meets Robyn Plummer: He is hopelessly, desperately drawn to her. But is it possible to have a normal relationship when your life is anything but?
Filled with moments of deep emotion and unexpected humor, The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B explores the complexities of living with OCD and offers the prospect of hope, happiness, and healing.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Decent book.

It's a nice little book about a boy battling OCD. It wasn't mind-blowing, but I don't regret spending a credit on it. I, too, have a form of OCD. It can be debilitating at times, and they speak with knowledge on the subject.
It's kind of a "insta-love" story. But it doesn't completely focus on that. Everything wraps up nicely.
Read full review

- whoa!

A heartbreaking, stunning, beautiful narration.

A YA book for our times. A story that deals with many issues of our time and a loving narration to match.
Read full review

- Thank you, audiobooks

Book Details

  • Release Date: 03-10-2015
  • Publisher: Listening Library