The Tragedy Paper

  • by Elizabeth Laban
  • Narrated by Nick Chamian, Jesse Bernstein
  • 8 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Looking for Alaska, The Tragedy Paper has been called “a beguiling and beautifully written tale of first love and heartbreak,” by New York Times bestselling author Jennifer Weiner.
It follows the story of Tim Macbeth, a seventeen-year-old albino and a recent transfer to the prestigious Irving School, where the motto is “Enter here to be and find a friend.” A friend is the last thing Tim expects or wants - he just hopes to get through his senior year unnoticed. Yet, despite his efforts to blend into the background, he finds himself falling for the quintessential “It” girl, Vanessa Sheller, girlfriend of Irving’s most popular boy. To Tim's surprise, Vanessa is into him, too, but she can kiss her social status goodbye if anyone ever finds out. Tim and Vanessa begin a clandestine romance, but looming over them is the Tragedy Paper, Irving’s version of a senior year thesis, assigned by the school’s least forgiving teacher.
Jumping between viewpoints of the love-struck Tim and Duncan, a current senior about to uncover the truth of Tim and Vanessa, The Tragedy Paper is a compelling tale of forbidden love and the lengths people will go to keep their secrets.


What the Critics Say

Starred Review, Booklist, November 15, 2012:
“Debut novelist LaBan takes us into the private school culture as well as the heads of two charming yet very different teenage boys and their parallel love stories… Nonexistent parents, well-intentioned, likeable faculty on the periphery, elaborate dorm rooms with overstuffed closets, even the romantic, snow-covered campus all contribute to a setting that adds to the story’s heft and intrigue.”


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Better Than Alaska, but not as good as 13 Reasons

Would you try another book from Elizabeth Laban and/or Nick Chamian and Jesse Bernstein ?


What was your reaction to the ending? (No spoilers please!)

It was along the lines of what I was thinking given I knew it was compared to Waiting for Alaska and 13 Reasons Why.

Which character – as performed by Nick Chamian and Jesse Bernstein – was your favorite?

They were all fine.

If this book were a movie would you go see it?


Any additional comments?

Check out 13 Reasons Why and SKIP Waiting for Alaska. Read this one over Alaska.

Read full review

- Bryan


What disappointed you about The Tragedy Paper?

Was a worthy story but found the ending inconsequential.

What was most disappointing about Elizabeth Laban’s story?

The conclusion

What does Nick Chamian and Jesse Bernstein bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Well performed.

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

It held my interest and expectation and was then a total let down.

Any additional comments?

Would not read again.

Read full review

- mary

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-08-2013
  • Publisher: Listening Library