Regular price: $10.49

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $10.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Owen Kiskaddon first came to the court of the formidable King Severn as a prisoner, winning favor with the stormy monarch by masquerading as a boy truly blessed by the Fountain. Nine years hence, the once-fearful Owen has grown into a confident young man, mentored in battle and politics by Duke Horwath and deeply in love with his childhood friend, the duke's granddaughter. But the blissful future Owen and Elysabeth Mortimer anticipate seems doomed by the king's machinations.
A pretender to Severn's throne has vowed to seize the crown of Kingfountain. But Severn means to combat the threat by using Elysabeth as bait to snare the imposter - and forcing Owen, as a pawn in the dangerous charade, to choose between duty and devotion. With poisoners and spies circling ominously, and war looming on the horizon, Owen must make painful sacrifices to beat back the advancing shadows of death and disaster. Will Owen's conflicted heart follow the king's path or will he risk everything for love?
©2016 Jeff Wheeler (P)2016 Brilliance Audio, all rights reserved.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Blythe on 06-12-17

Second & possibly best in the Kingfountain trilogy

Any additional comments?

Second book in the Kingsfountain trilogy, and unlike the middle book of some trilogies, this is NOT a weaker story. In fact, I'd say it improves on the first. The main character Owen, who was 8-9 in the first book, is now 17-18 and makes a more nuanced narrator who plays a more active role in making things happen. He's come into his power and responsibility as a Duke and fountain-blessed, and is now in a position of trust to the troubled King Severn. The king's mistrust and bitterness are growing by the year, causing him to constantly test the loyalty of those who serve him, and Owen and Evie are no exception. Throughout the book the king demands more and more from them both, as a pretender arises claiming to be the son of the king's older brother and rightful heir to the crown of Ceredigion. As other rulers back the pretender and the king is forced to defend himself on multiple fronts, Owen's and Evie's loyalty is tested to the breaking point.

I picked this up on audiobook immediately after finishing the first book and ended up listening to it for the entire day instead of all the other things I should have been doing instead. The politics and history of Ceredigion are detailed and well thought out; the mysterious magic system of the fountain plays a larger part but is still fairly mysterious; and the characters are nuanced and have many layers and changing loyalties rather than being simply one thing or the other. Even minor characters like Evie's maid/chaperone get to have personality and plot, and the author makes you understand the perspectives of both the king and the pretender. It's often hard to tell who will turn out to be an enemy or an ally, and I forsee more twists still to come in the third book of the trilogy.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

By Amazon Customer on 11-09-16


I am ruined for any other author or narrator. This series has me enthralled! Kate Rudd reads as I would read to myself. Give me more PLEASE

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By David on 10-23-17

From cliche to intrigue

The plot becomes vastly more complex, interviewed fates unroll in a fasvinating and compelling read. I had problems"putting it down"!

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc