The Rules of Survival

  • by Nancy Werlin
  • Narrated by Daniel Passer
  • 6 hrs and 7 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

It all starts when Matthew observes a heroic scene in a convenience store: a man named Murdoch puts himself between an abusive father and his son. Matt is determined to get to know this man. And when, amazingly, Murdoch begins dating Matt's mother, it seems as if life may become peaceful for the first time. Matt and his sisters have never before known a moment of peace in a household ruled by their unpredictable, vicious mother. And so, after Murdoch inevitably breaks up with her and the short period of family calm is over, Matt sees that he needs to take action. He refuses to let his family remain at risk. Can he call upon his hero, Murdoch? And if not, what might his desperation lead him to do?
A thought-provoking exploration of self-reliance and the nature of evil, and a heart-wrenching portrait of a family in crisis, this is Nancy Werlin's most compulsively readable novel yet.


What the Critics Say

"[A] haunting, powerful portrayal of domestic dysfunction." (Booklist)
"Werlin tackles the topic of child abuse with grace and insight." (School Library Journal)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

An accurate tale from inside an abusive upbringing

Daniel's voice as narrator is great for this, and he conveyed the emotions of a completely terrible situation very clearly to the listener. Werlin's story is believable and heart-wrenching. It especially hit home for me how Matt never self-identified as "neglected" or "abused" growing up, but instead would've classified himself as "loved" if ever questioned by police or social workers. That part is so important for anyone on the outside to understand. That, and knowing that, when that kid finally does reach out for help, please please please take him seriously... Don't minimise his feelings or dismiss his concerns. This was well worth the read.
Read full review

- M. D. Baines

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-07-2007
  • Publisher: Listening Library