The Reader

  • by Traci Chee
  • Narrated by Kim Mai Guest
  • 12 hrs and 31 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A stunning debut set in a world where reading is unheard of, perfect for fans of Inkheart and Shadow and Bone.
Sefia knows what it means to survive. After her father is brutally murdered, she flees into the wilderness with her aunt Nin, who teaches her to hunt, track, and steal. But when Nin is kidnapped, leaving Sefia completely alone, none of her survival skills can help her discover where Nin's been taken, or if she's even alive. The only clue to both her aunt's disappearance and her father's murder is the odd rectangular object her father left behind, an object she comes to realize is a book - a marvelous item unheard of in her otherwise illiterate society. With the help of this book, and the aid of a mysterious stranger with dark secrets of his own, Sefia sets out to rescue her aunt and find out what really happened the day her father was killed - and punish the people responsible.
With overlapping stories of swashbuckling pirates and merciless assassins, The Reader is a brilliantly told adventure from an extraordinary new talent.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Not for me

Reader was great, but the story just couldn't hold my attention. I really tried, but once I find myself flipping to other books or going to next chapter, it's a wrap.
Read full review

- Maribee7 "Say something about yourself!"


So sad that it is over and not another book to start listening to! I enjoyed the multiple story lines and the characters. I look forward to more stories by the author and the narrator was marvelous!
Read full review

- S. Shelton "sal4gal"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-13-2016
  • Publisher: Listening Library