Regular price: $42.00

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $42.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A stunning debut set in a world where reading is unheard of, perfect for fans of Inkheart and Shadow and Bone.
Sefia knows what it means to survive. After her father is brutally murdered, she flees into the wilderness with her aunt Nin, who teaches her to hunt, track, and steal. But when Nin is kidnapped, leaving Sefia completely alone, none of her survival skills can help her discover where Nin's been taken, or if she's even alive. The only clue to both her aunt's disappearance and her father's murder is the odd rectangular object her father left behind, an object she comes to realize is a book - a marvelous item unheard of in her otherwise illiterate society. With the help of this book, and the aid of a mysterious stranger with dark secrets of his own, Sefia sets out to rescue her aunt and find out what really happened the day her father was killed - and punish the people responsible.
With overlapping stories of swashbuckling pirates and merciless assassins, The Reader is a brilliantly told adventure from an extraordinary new talent.
©2016 Traci Chee (P)2016 Listening Library
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
3 out of 5 stars
By H. Walker on 02-03-17

the childlike narration

the male characters sound ridiculous when read with the "youthful tone" of the narrator. worse when canibalism is the topic. I want to take it seriously but can't.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By Buttercup Thelen on 10-14-17

Intense, but great story.

Super interesting premise. A bit hard to follow at times, but the prose and narration were hypnotic. Needless/excessive violence at times, but overall a great listen.

Read More Hide me

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc