Regular price: $18.24

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $18.24

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing #ownvoices novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.
Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.
But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers - especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, whom her family can never know about.
With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems.
Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.
©2018 Elizabeth Acevedo (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice." (Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation)
"An incredibly potent debut." (Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award finalist, Ghost)
"Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero." (Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Anonymous User on 03-19-18

Powerful Story

I love that this story truly resonates with so many children in the Latino community. Elizabeth paints a vivid picture with her words. Listening to her narrate her story was like watching a movie. I could close my eyes and see the story play out right in front of me. Can’t wait for her next novel! Keep up the great work Elizabeth you have a real gift.

Read More Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By Audiobookhoe on 03-17-18

Epic YA story

An intense free verse style ya contemporary. Amazing narration, and encompasses everything I felt about myself growing up as a teenage afro Latinx girl.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc