The Order of the Poison Oak : Russell Middlebrook

  • by Brent Hartinger
  • Narrated by Josh Hurley
  • Series: Russell Middlebrook
  • 5 hrs and 0 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

“Summer camp is different from high school. Something about spending the night. Things happen.”
Geography Club's Russel Middlebrook is back, and he and his friends are off to work as counselors at a summer camp. Brent Hartinger's third novel is the story of Indian legends, skinny-dipping in moonlit coves, and passionate summer romance. It's also the story of Russel's latest club, the Order of the Poison Oak, a secret society dedicated to helping its members see life's hidden beauty and accept its sometimes painful sting.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Unique sequel

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes, I would because, as a sequel to the first book in his series ("The Geography Club"), author Brent Hartinger has gone in a direction that was certainly novel and opened up new opportunities for growth and experience among his characters. The unique setting for this second installment was enlightening, informative, and relevant. Certainly a treat.

Would you be willing to try another book from Brent Hartinger? Why or why not?

Yes, and I have. As mentioned in earlier reviews, I appreciate Mr. Hartinger's respect for his characters: teens who are figuring out the world, are admittedly confused about lots of things (including their own behavior), and (most of all) speak like teens.

What does Josh Hurley bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

He's awesome. The author really retained the "teen voice" throughout this book series, but that could have easily been lost with poor narration. Mr. Hurley did a fantastic job conveying all that the characters are at this point in their lives.

Read full review

- mindnbody


I thought the first book was great, but this one totally blew me out of the water! Had an amazing story, and wonderful read I can't wait to read the next one!
Read full review

- Lucianwade

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-05-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios