The King's Traitor : The Kingfountain Series

  • by Jeff Wheeler
  • Narrated by Kate Rudd
  • Series: The Kingfountain Series
  • 12 hrs and 47 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Against all odds, Owen Kiskaddon grew from frightened boy to confident youth to trusted officer in the court of Kingfountain - and watched its regent, Severn Argentine, grow ever more ruthless and power-mad. Robbed of his beloved protector, his noble mentor, and his true love, Owen has anticipated the day when the king he fears and reviles, yet loyally serves, will be toppled. Now, as Severn plots a campaign of conquest, the time has come to take action...and Owen's destiny demands that he lead the strike.
Ordered to incite war with a neighboring kingdom, Owen discovers its beautiful, reclusive ruler, whose powerful magic might even exceed his own. Together they mount a daring plot to overthrow the corrupt monarch, crown the rightful heir, and defeat the prophesied curse threatening Kingfountain with wintry death. But Severn's evil is as bottomless as the fabled Deep Fathoms. To keep his ill-gotten throne, he'll gladly spill the blood of enemies and innocents alike.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

enjoyed it but recommend reading legends muirwood

As I listened to this book, I wasn't sure how to feel. There were characters who were lost that I felt didn't necessarily have to go or at least not in the manner that it happened as well as another character who shows up and plays a slightly significant part in the story but then whose story line doesn't get resolved by the end of the book.

In fact, this book felt both like an ending to a series and a set up for a new series. Despite this, I still found myself enjoying the story and I'm going to miss them. On a side note, I highly recommend reading the legends of muirwood series first as the ending of this book will have more impact if you know the characters from muirwood.

However, not reading muirwood will not make you miss out on a plot lines, in fact, muirwood only comes into play on the final part. It makes the ending go from "o-okay, I guess that's it.." to "oh dang are you serious?!"
Read full review

- Artor

Wraps up the trilogy nicely

Any additional comments?

Satisfying ending to the Kingfountain trilogy which is set 7 years after the second book. Owen is now 24, still serving the increasingly corrupt King Severn, and still broken-hearted from the events in book 2. As Severn grows increasingly more cruel and unstable, Owen is forced to choose between his lifelong loyalty and the rightful king - now a seven year old boy who doesn't know anything about his heritage or even who his parents are.

Owen struggles throughout the book with his various moral choices and ultimately tries to make the choices that will save the kingdom from destruction by the magic of Kingfountain. Lots of plot twists and good characters. Overall I think this book is a bit weaker than the last one though, as there were several loose ends never tied up and also a couple of places where Wheeler is so heavy handed in foreshadowing to the point that it's blatantly obvious what's about to happen. Still, a satisfying ending to a very rich and character-full trilogy; would definitely read (or listen to) other books by the same author.

Read full review

- Blythe

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-06-2016
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio