The Hit

  • by Melvin Burgess
  • Narrated by Christian Cooke
  • 7 hrs and 37 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A new drug is out. Everyone is talking about it. Death. Take it, and you have one amazing week to live. It's the ultimate high. At the ultimate price...
Adam is tempted. Life is rubbish; his girlfriend's over him, his brother's gone. So what's he got to lose? Everything, as it turns out...


Title Not For Sale In This Country

Audible does not currently have the rights to sell this title in your country.

Please consider another book.

Continue Browsing

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Gansters, Drugs and Revolution

I guess I wasn’t sure what to expect from The Hit given the brief summary supplied.
I thought I’d be in for shenanigans and life lessons from Adam in his last week alive with the sharp satirical edge the premise lends.

The Hit actually plays more like a rollicking British gangster flick. You’ve got a rock star, leg breakers, drug dealers, an anonymous protest group and hundreds of thousands of disenchanted Britons all converging as Adam tries to fulfil his bucket list.

He’d expected to spend his last seven days drinking, shagging and partying but as revolution threatens to spark in a depressed near-future England Adam realises his death will be anything but meaningful in the face of such unprecedented events. And of course, there’s a distinct chance me mightn’t even see out his rapidly ticking clock…

The Hit was brash, violent and over-the top at times and I definitely think it could have (should have) dug deeper to a more poignant morale core. Still, the book cracked along with some interesting twists and while I initially wasn’t a fan of the surprise multiple ‘bad guy’ POVs, they definitely built tension.

Overall, I’d recommend The Hit if you’re looking for something with an interesting premise that is a bit rougher than the usual. Guy Ritchie fans could definitely find something to enjoy here too.
Read full review

- Crystal

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-31-2013
  • Publisher: Audible Studios