Regular price: $10.49

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $10.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Blood will water the corn....
It's been a year since the Saranyu flotilla fell from the sky, and life in the Heartland has changed. Gone are the Obligations and the Harvest Home festivals. In their place is a spate of dead towns, the former inhabitants forced into mechanical bodies to serve the Empyrean - and crush the Heartland.
When Cael awakens from a Blightborn sleep, miles away from the world he remembers, he sets out across the Heartland to gather his friends for one last mission. As the mechanicals, a war flotilla, and a pack of feral Empyrean girls begin to close in on the Heartland, there isn't much time to make their next move. But if they can uncover a secret weapon in time, Cael and his friends might just find themselves with the power to save the world - or destroy it - resting in their hands.
©2015 Chuck Wendig (P)2015 Brilliance Audio, all rights reserved.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Kathryn Prause on 02-23-17

Amazing writing by Wendig and reading by Podehl

I started this series with trepidation. The heartland/corn/poverty theme didn't appeal to me whatsoever. But then, the writing. Wendig's use of descriptive language is mesmerizing. I truly enjoyed every moment and couldn't stop listening. I highlighted several passages for my 14 and 16 year olds to read as perfect examples of what their English teachers mean when they note, "needs more descriptive language" on their papers. This is the most vividly drawn story I've listened to. Ever.

Read More Hide me
5 out of 5 stars
By J. N. Bowling on 01-29-16

I almost never write reviews, but

Wow... the author and reader both... Just wow! The depth of the characters, the wit of the metaphors, the character voices... I read a bunch, not as many as some, but a bunch nonetheless. I have lots of favorites, and I would have never considered Wendig among them. He did great work with this series, and I really enjoyed it. I'm sure you will too.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc