• The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora

  • By: Pablo Cartaya
  • Narrated by: Pablo Cartaya
  • Length: 5 hrs and 6 mins
  • Unabridged
  • Release date: 05-16-17
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Listening Library (Audio)
  • 4.7 (7 ratings)

Regular price: $24.50

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $24.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Save the restaurant. Save the town. Get the girl. Make Abuela proud. Can 13-year-old Arturo Zamora do it all, or is he in for a big, epic fail?
For Arturo, summertime in Miami means playing basketball until dark, sipping mango smoothies, and keeping cool under banyan trees. And maybe a few shifts as junior lunchtime dishwasher at Abuela's restaurant. Maybe. But this summer also includes Carmen, a cute poetry enthusiast who moves into Arturo's apartment complex and turns his stomach into a deep fryer. He almost doesn't notice the smarmy land developer who rolls into town and threatens to change it. Arturo refuses to let his family and community go down without a fight, and as he schemes with Carmen, Arturo discovers the power of poetry and protest through untold family stories and the work of José Martí.
Funny and poignant, The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora is the vibrant story of a family, a striking portrait of a town, and one boy's quest to save both, perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia.
©2017 Pablo Cartaya (P)2017 Listening Library
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Sensational." (Matt de la Peña, New York Times best-selling and Newbery Medal-winning author of The Last Stop on Market Street)
"Pablo Cartaya brings humor, poignancy, and a fresh voice to his reading of his audiobook. His prose is rich with imagery and honesty, and his cast of characters is bursting with warmth, personality, and passion.... Through lively prose and a lyrical narration, Cartaya weaves a story of courage, food, family, and community.... The sense of culture and place is rich, and the dialogue is refreshingly realistic. An ideal summer listen." (AudioFile)
Show More Show Less
No Reviews are Available
© Copyright 1997 - 2017 Audible, Inc