Regular price: $19.62

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.62

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Every day Zoe struggles to keep going. The cruel winter took her father's life and left her angry and broken-hearted. As she carries her little brother through a snowstorm that could kill him in minutes, her only thought is finding shelter. The cabin beyond the woods is far from the place of safety she hoped it would be, but it is there that she meets a man whose muscular body marked with strange and primitive tattoos hints at an extraordinary story. He has the power to light up the lake, and with it Zoe's world.
Zoe calls the stranger X. He is a bounty hunter, tormented by the evils of his victims that course through his veins. X has never felt anything but hate, until he meets Zoe. She shows him what his heart is really for, and if they can find a way to be together, just maybe his pain can help Zoe forget her own.
This high-stakes, heart-pounding romance will leave the listener breathless for this breakout new series and its sequel.
©2017 Jeff Giles (P)2017 Audible, Ltd
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Giles beautifully captures the breathless, visceral, and instant attraction between Zoe and X.... A rich and satisfying read on multiple levels." (Booklist)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

By Matt on 04-30-17

a meh type of story.

not really a memorable story. good read if bored. aimed at young girls more than anything with the sappy love story. the brother was more annoying than anything. the story said the kid had adhd but acted like he had mild autism.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

By johanna tiso on 05-17-17

The Edge of Bored to Tears

What was most disappointing about Jeff Giles’s story?

This book is Twilight's younger, less adorable brother. If you want insta-love, a discount Edward Cullens (but with the same amount of brooding), and a slow descent into a could-have-been amazing story, this book is for you.

How could the performance have been better?

YES! She was so monotone, I found myself zoning out.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2017 Audible, Inc