The Dark Days Pact : The Lady Helen Trilogy

  • by Alison Goodman
  • Narrated by Fiona Hardingham
  • Series: The Lady Helen Trilogy
  • 15 hrs and 17 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Sequel to New York Times bestselling author Alison Goodman's acclaimed The Dark Days Club - a smashing combination of Buffy and Jane Austen!
Summer, 1812.
After the scandalous events at her presentation ball in London, Lady Helen has taken refuge at the fashionable seaside resort of Brighton, banished from her family and training as a Reclaimer with the covert Dark Days Club. She must learn to fight the dangerous energy-wielding Deceivers and prepare to face their master, the elusive Grand Deceiver.
As she struggles to put aside her genteel upbringing, Helen realizes that her mentor, Lord Carlston, is fighting his own inner battle. Has the foul Deceiver energy poisoned his soul, or is something else driving him towards violent bouts of madness? Either way, Helen is desperate to help the man with whom she shares a deep but forbidden connection.
When Mr. Pike, the hard bureaucratic heart of the Dark Days Club, arrives in Brighton, he has a secret mission for Helen: find the journal left by a mad rogue Reclaimer, before it falls into the hands of the Deceivers. Coerced by Pike, Helen has no choice but to do as ordered, knowing that the search for the journal may bring about Lord Carlston's annihilation.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

A satisfying sequel

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

Yes -anyone who likes fantasy or supernatural, as well as historical fiction, will love this. It is absolutely necessary to read the first book as this is not a standalone.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Helen - I loved seeing her arc as a character grow stronger and stronger. She was independent, strong, brave and such a departure from who she was in the beginning of Novel 1.

Any additional comments?

My god, the Duke of Selburn storyline was infuriatingly annoying. He just keeps hanging around, lingering though no one in the book, including Lady Helen, can stand the man. He is constantly telling Helen what to do, even though she is a warrior and has told him to buzz off. He spends most of the book being a busybody and a pest and a distraction for the plot and I was BUMMED when he was kept on throughout the book in a way that means he'll be in the following books. My advice to the author? Lose the Duke.

Read full review

- Laura


Better than the first. Cannot wait for the third. Excellent writing and narration. Starts a bit slow, but so worth getting through to the end. Loved every bit of the story.
Read full review

- Kindle Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-31-2017
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio