Regular price: $27.37

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $27.37

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A raw, powerful, but ultimately uplifting debut novel perfect for fans of Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe from debut author Angelo Surmelis.
Seventeen-year-old Evan Panos doesn't know where he fits in. His strict immigrant Greek mother refuses to see him as anything but a disappointment. His quiet, workaholic father is a staunch believer in avoiding any kind of conflict. And his best friend, Henry, has somehow become distractingly attractive over the summer.
Tired, isolated, scared - Evan finds that his only escape is to draw in an abandoned monastery that feels as lonely as he is. And yes, he kissed one guy over the summer. But it's Henry who's now proving to be irresistible. Henry, who suddenly seems interested in being more than friends. And it's Henry who makes him believe that he deserves more than his mother's harsh words and terrifying abuse.
But as things with Henry heat up, and his mother's abuse escalates, Evan has to decide how to find his voice in a world where he has survived so long by being silent.
This is a powerful and revelatory coming-of-age novel based on the author's own childhood, about a boy who learns to step into his light.
©2018 Angelo Surmelis (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By J on 02-28-18

Narrator brings the story to life

I loved this. Michael Crouch has become one of my favorite narrators and this book proved just how skilled he is at his job. The accents he did in this book for the parents and for the other characters made each person distinct and recognizable. I also really loved the story. I wanted to protect the main character, and I liked that he found out what real love feels like.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Anna on 04-08-18

A touching story

This story is a hard story. I wasn’t expecting some of what happened so trigger warning for domestic violence and anti LGBT themes and slang in the book. Although it is tough content it is so true and genuine feeling. You really live and walk with Evan through this story. You want the best for him and you ache and feel as he fights his way through his day.
This story is told beautifully and truthfully. There are such happy clear moments that you clutch into just like Evan clutches onto them. If you aren’t in a good place with your family or your identity I don’t know that I’d recommend this book-
It could be triggering - it could be reaffirming that you are valid and that others have gone through similar experiences. I know this is a review but I want y’all to be safe and not accidentally trigger yourself even though I love this book!
I do recommend the audiobook. Micheal Crouch is phenomenal and is my favorite narrator. He manages to differentiate all the characters so well without being caricatures - he also differentiates his characters from other stories which is amazing. He is so underrated and whenever he is narrating a book I know I’m in for a treat!

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews