The Crown's Game

  • by Evelyn Skye
  • Narrated by Steve West
  • 12 hrs and 1 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone and Red Queen, The Crown's Game is a thrilling and atmospheric historical fantasy set in imperial Russia about two teenagers who must compete for the right to become the Imperial Enchanter - or die in the process - from debut author Evelyn Skye.
Vika Andreyeva can summon the snow and turn ash into gold. Nikolai Karimov can see through walls and conjure bridges out of thin air. They are enchanters - the only two in Russia - and with the Ottoman Empire and the Kazakhs threatening, the tsar needs a powerful enchanter by his side.
And so he initiates the Crown's Game, an ancient duel of magical skill - the greatest test an enchanter will ever know. The victor becomes the Imperial Enchanter and the tsar's most respected adviser. The defeated is sentenced to death.
Raised on tiny Ovchinin Island her whole life, Vika is eager for the chance to show off her talent in the grand capital of Saint Petersburg. But can she kill another enchanter - even when his magic calls to her like nothing else ever has?
For Nikolai, an orphan, the Crown's Game is the chance of a lifetime. But his deadly opponent is a force to be reckoned with - beautiful, whip smart, imaginative - and he can't stop thinking about her.
And when Pasha, Nikolai's best friend and heir to the throne, also starts to fall for the mysterious enchantress, Nikolai must defeat the girl they both love...or be killed himself.
As long-buried secrets emerge, threatening the future of the empire, it becomes dangerously clear...the Crown's Game is not one to lose.

More

What the Critics Say

"Gorgeous and richly imagined." (Sara Raasch, New York Times best-selling author of the Snow Like Ashes series)
"Teeming with hidden magic and fiery romance." (Sabaa Tahir, New York Times best-selling author of An Ember in the Ashes)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Great world building, slow pacing, love triangle

The writer did a great job of building up the world of 1800s St. Petersburg, Russia. The scenery details were great. But the story dragged on in many places. Also, the characters we're predictable, and I'm over the whole love triangle bit. I found the female protagonist to be not as sympathetic as I would have liked, as she made many choices that she knew went against her best interest - and everyone else's - and it put many people into a catch-22 that was easily avoidable. There was a nice amount of realism in the end with it being mostly bitter not sweet; reminded me a bit of The Theif Lord in that way. Not my cup of tea, but you may enjoy it.

As always, Steve West is great on the narration.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

A Bit Too Long

Great story! There where parts of the story that didn't move the plot along and could have been left out so make the story more concise.
Read full review

- psara(h)

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-17-2016
  • Publisher: HarperAudio