Regular price: $19.95

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Prequel to the USA Today best-selling and Goodreads Choice finalist Stolen Songbird.
Below Forsaken Mountain, a plot is being hatched to overthrow the tyrant king of Trollus, and Marc is the right-hand man of its leader. His involvement is information more than one troll would kill to possess, which is why he must keep it a secret from everyone, even the girl he loves.
After accidentally ruining her sister's chance to become queen, Pénélope is given one last opportunity by her father, the Duke d'Angoulême, to make herself useful: she must find proof that the boy she's in love with is conspiring against the crown. If she fails, her life will be forfeit.
Marc and Pénélope must navigate the complex politics of Trollus, where powers on all sides are intent on using them as pawns, forcing them to risk everything for a chance at a life together.
Except being together may turn out to be the greatest risk of all.
©2017 Danielle L. Jensen (P)2017 Audible, Inc.
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By L. DelPrete on 06-30-17


I cannot speak highly enough of this book and of the series as a whole. It is one of my favorites if not my favorite overall. That is saying a lot because I read A LOT AND listen to A LOT of great books! please listen to The Malediction Series first and then come back to this prequel!!! this book gives us more insight into the characters and adds a whole new perspective to the story! Danielle Jensen is brilliant with character development and intricate plots! never a full moment!!! I love this world and the characters and I would love more stories from more characters! after listening to this story I have begun listening to Stolen Songbird again (book 1 of the trilogy). I HAVE NEVER LISTENED TO A BOOK FOR A SECOND TIME!!! I felt as if listening again with the new information from this prequel would make it feel brand new again, and I was right!!! please add this book and the series to your list! you won't regret it!!!!

Read More Hide me

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Paula on 11-12-17

A great addition to the series

A wonderful book. Na amazing beginnig to The Malediction Triology. Althought this book has been release after the conclusion, this book tell us how so many things starts, like the business relationship between Tristan and Anais, the rebelion, Marc’s dadness..
About the narration, I can say was very good, and made the book enjoyable. Perfect.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By paula on 06-26-17

A Brilliant Prequel Novella

I haven't yet read the original malediction trilogy so I thought I'd start with this, admittedly I had to repeat the prologue and 1st chapter 3 times to properly understand what was going on, but once I did this I was throughly caught hook line and sinker. The narration was quite annoying particularly in the beginning but I increased the play back speed to x1.10 and that helped it along while the narrators got their bearings. I can see the other audio books are narrated by the same people (which usually I'd rejoice at) but I'm hoping for the best. I can't wait to see what else happens in Trollis and how this prequel novella ties in. :)

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc