• The Astonishing Color of After

  • By: Emily X.R. Pan
  • Narrated by: Stephanie Hsu
  • Length: 11 hrs and 51 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Release date: 03-20-18
  • Language: English
  • Publisher: Hachette Audio
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars 4.4 (59 ratings)

Regular price: $26.22

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $26.22

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"Emily X.R. Pan's brilliantly crafted, harrowing first novel portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief with heart-wrenching beauty and candor. This is a very special book." (John Green, best-selling author of The Fault in Our Stars and Turtles All the Way Down)
A stunning, heartbreaking debut novel about grief, love, and family, perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Celeste Ng.
Leigh Chen Sanders is absolutely certain about one thing: When her mother died by suicide, she turned into a bird.
Leigh, who is half Asian and half white, travels to Taiwan to meet her maternal grandparents for the first time. There, she is determined to find her mother, the bird. In her search, she winds up chasing after ghosts, uncovering family secrets, and forging a new relationship with her grandparents. And as she grieves, she must try to reconcile the fact that on the same day she kissed her best friend and longtime secret crush, Axel, her mother was taking her own life.
Alternating between real and magic, past and present, friendship and romance, hope and despair, The Astonishing Color of After is a stunning and heartbreaking novel about finding oneself through family history, art, grief, and love.

PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your Library section along with the audio.

©2018 Emily X.R. Pan (P)2018 Hachette Audio
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"This beautiful, magical journey through grief made my heart take flight." (Holly Black, best-selling author of The Cruel Prince and The Darkest Part of the Forest)
"Pan's debut novel is not to be missed." (School Library Journal)
"An evocative novel that captures the uncertain, unmoored feeling of existing between worlds--culturally, linguistically, ethnically, romantically, and existentially - it is also about seeking hope and finding beauty even in one's darkest hours." (Kirkus Reviews)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By T. Throssell on 05-25-18

well written imaginative story<br />

The story is interesting and well written. The author's description of feelings and actions is exceptional. I would suggest reading it a couple chapters at a time so you can digest the plot.

Read More Hide me
4 out of 5 stars
By Joshua on 05-24-18

Wasn't for me, might be for you!

Wanted to love it but just couldn't connect with the story. Masterfully written but too much teen angst for me. Beautiful language and use of color as metaphor throughout while tackling tough subject matter.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews