The Assassin's Blade : Throne of Glass

  • by Sarah J. Maas
  • Narrated by Elizabeth Evans
  • Series: Throne of Glass
  • 12 hrs and 52 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Celaena Sardothien is her kingdom's most feared assassin. Though she works for the powerful and ruthless Assassin's Guild, Celaena yields to no one and trusts only her fellow killer for hire, Sam.
When Celaena's scheming master, Arobynn Hamel, dispatches her on missions that take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, she finds herself acting independently of his wishes - and questioning her own allegiance. Along the way, she makes friends and enemies alike, and discovers that she feels far more for Sam than just friendship. But by defying Arobynn's orders, Celaena risks unimaginable punishment, and with Sam by her side, he is in danger, too. They will have to risk it all if they hope to escape Arobynn's clutches - and if they fail, they'll lose not just a chance at freedom, but their lives…
A prequel to Throne of Glass, this collection of five novellas offers listeners a deeper look into the history of this cunning assassin and her enthralling - and deadly - world.
Included in this volume:
The Assassin and the Pirate Lord
The Assassin and the Healer
The Assassin and the Desert
The Assassin and the Underworld
The Assassin and the Empire


Audible Editor Reviews

Editors Select, April 2014 - I’ve been a huge fan of Celaena Sardothien since first listening to the Throne of Glass novels. While I was fascinated with her journey to become the King’s royal assassin and win her freedom from the treacherous salt mines, I always wondered about her early years and the events that led her to become the world’s deadliest assassin. Assassin's Blade treats fans to twelve stories looking back at Celaeana’s past adventures, which helped shed light on mysteries left unanswered in the novels. If you love Sarah J. Maas’ series, or are looking for an action-packed YA fantasy series, don’t miss this one. —Sarah, Audible Editor


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Interesting Story, I'm game.

I'm looking forward to starting Book 1 (this was Book 0.5). I downloaded the rest of the series, even preordered Book 4 (September 2) as well as the kindle versions. This is an interesting story about a young girl rescued & turned into an assassin. It's reminiscent of the tv show Nikita only w/ Kings, Queens and Kingdoms. I liked the idea of it all and found the story interesting.

My only confusion or thing I graple with is this young girl is an assassin, how is it w/ her caution, care & training does she not catch on to the betrayal she is delt. I give her a pass based upon the fact that she is 16 when this story starts. I'm hoping to see her mature through out these next books.

Performance: Please forgive me, I'm picky. I'm an Emma Galvin, Therese Plummer fan. Some review I've read dislike my chosen narrators. It's just me. I feel Evans read Celina a bit too snotty but the voice for her is perfect. Make sense? I don't like how nasty she reads her at times when I feel Celina may have been being defencive not a brat. Her male voices are awful. But I'm sticking w/the audible & kindle version as I enjoy the story. Evans isn't horrid perhaps not my cup of tea is all.
Read full review

- Noelle

Entertaining and annoying at the same time

Any additional comments?

As with all of the books in this series so far, I found the story to be good and entertaining, but Celaena's pride and anger are really grating! Maybe if I read the books, rather than listened to them with the narrators own interpretations and inflections, I might not find Celaena to be so hostile and prideful nearly every waking moment. Another thing I find silly is that she is supposed to be THE assassin, but yet she is so trusting of the wrong people and is so easily duped, and all the while she is not trusting the people that she should be. But those gripes aside, they are all good short stories and give you some insight into her life before becoming the King's Champion.

Read full review

- irishred507

Book Details

  • Release Date: 04-01-2014
  • Publisher: Audible Studios for Bloomsbury