The Affiliate : Ascension (Linde)

  • by K.A. Linde
  • Narrated by Erin Mallon
  • Series: Ascension (Linde)
  • 10 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

On the day of her Presenting, in front of the entire Byern Court, 17-year-old Cyrene Strohm's lifelong plans come to fruition when she's chosen for one of the most prestigious positions in her homeland - an Affiliate to the Queen.
Or so she thinks.
When Cyrene receives a mysterious letter and an unreadable book, she finds nothing is as it seems. Thrust into a world of dangerous political intrigue and deadly magic, Cyrene's position only grows more treacherous when she finds herself drawn to the one man she can never have...King Edric himself.
Cyrene must decide if love is truly worth the price of freedom.
Find out in this first book in USA Today best-selling author K.A. Linde's new Ascension series. Great for fans of Game of Thrones, Tudors, and Sarah J. Maas's Throne of Glass series.

More

What the Critics Say

"With rich romance and twisty political intrigue, The Affiliate is a breakneck fantasy ride that's perfect for fans of The Selection or Throne of Glass." (Susan Dennard, NYT bestselling author of Truthwitch)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

blah

Would you try another book from K.A. Linde and/or Erin Mallon?

I probably would not


What was most disappointing about K.A. Linde’s story?

the character did some very stupid things.. The chick was very basic. Some of the dialogue was elementary.


Could you see The Affiliate being made into a movie or a TV series? Who should the stars be?

No!!!


Any additional comments?

Do not waste your time. I will be honest, some of the story was okay but most of it was idiotic.

Read full review

- Visscher

Boring

Honestly this book was just so boring. It has great reviews so even though it started slowly I figured I would be patient and give it a chance. Ended up stopping in the middle of the "climax" and returning it because I just could not bring myself to care how it ended.

The main character obviously has some sort of special destiny/power/thing happening with her, but rather than focusing on that, she spends the whole book torn between two guys - one who tries to date rape her upon first meeting and his brother who is also only interested in getting to sleep with her. I'm all for a good love triangle but the author gives exactly one reason for the main character to be interested in both of them - they're hot. I need at least one redeeming quality to understand her interest in either of them.

I was also not a fan of the narrator as she made the female characters sound excessively whiny.
Read full review

- Mary

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-04-2016
  • Publisher: Audible Studios