The Affiliate : Ascension (Linde)

  • by K.A. Linde
  • Narrated by Erin Mallon
  • Series: Ascension (Linde)
  • 10 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

On the day of her Presenting, in front of the entire Byern Court, 17-year-old Cyrene Strohm's lifelong plans come to fruition when she's chosen for one of the most prestigious positions in her homeland - an Affiliate to the Queen.
Or so she thinks.
When Cyrene receives a mysterious letter and an unreadable book, she finds nothing is as it seems. Thrust into a world of dangerous political intrigue and deadly magic, Cyrene's position only grows more treacherous when she finds herself drawn to the one man she can never have...King Edric himself.
Cyrene must decide if love is truly worth the price of freedom.
Find out in this first book in USA Today best-selling author K.A. Linde's new Ascension series. Great for fans of Game of Thrones, Tudors, and Sarah J. Maas's Throne of Glass series.

More

What the Critics Say

"With rich romance and twisty political intrigue, The Affiliate is a breakneck fantasy ride that's perfect for fans of The Selection or Throne of Glass." (Susan Dennard, NYT bestselling author of Truthwitch)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Disappointed

I had high hopes for this book, but it did not take too long before I began to be disappointed. The overall storyline was interesting, but it could have been so, so much better with deeper character development. I never grew even remotely attached to any of the characters and I only hung onto the story until the end because I was curious about the murders. There were so many things in the story that the author could have expanded on to engage the reader and bring more depth to the story, but instead she just stated things as fact and moved on. Returned both the book and the audible recording after finishing as well as the second one I had already purchased because I had no interest in continuing.
Read full review

- Kelsey Lee Niehenke

Not a fan of Narrator

The story it's self was good, however the narrator kind of got on my nerves. I thought she tried to be "too breathy" all the time and she put inflection in weird spots that took away from what she was reading instead of enhancing it. It wasn't enough of an annoyance that I couldn't listen, but I found myself rolling my eyes numerous times because of the way she read parts.
Read full review

- priscilla

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-04-2016
  • Publisher: Audible Studios