Soldier's Heart

  • by Gary Paulsen
  • Narrated by George Wendt
  • 1 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Gary Paulsen introduces readers to Charley Goddard in his latest novel, Soldier's Heart. Charley goes to war a boy, and returns a changed man, crippled by what he has seen. In this captivating tale Paulsen vividly shows readers the turmoil of war through one boy's eyes and one boy's heart, and gives a voice to all the anonymous young men who fought in the Civil War.


What the Critics Say

"A stark, utterly persuasive novel of combat life in the Civil War that may well challenge generations of middle-school readers." (The New York Times)
"Paulsen's storytelling is so psychologically true that readers will feel they have lived through Charley's experience." (Publishers Weekly)
"The nightmare of the Civil War comes to the pages in this novel from Paulsen...based on the real-life experiences of a young enlistee." (Kirkus Reviews)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

very sad informational book, with a great story.

blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah able a hduhsh
uneke face dong blog time rime poop
Read full review

- L. Moser

very good read

As a soldier i loved it. i could see the detail in the story. It gave me more respect for the men back then.
Read full review

- charles e spears

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-25-2012
  • Publisher: Listening Library