Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Joey Foust has no idea he's a wanted man, and his parents aim to keep it that way. They raised him as a normal boy in a small American town, hoping he and his friends don't discover what lies beyond. And for 18 years, they succeed.
Joey and his friends, the Preston Six, were all born on the same day but soon come to find they have much more in common than a simple birthdate. Details of their past are suspicious, and they are determined to figure out what their parents are hiding.
Small threads of new information are discovered, leading the Preston Six to venture in search for the truth. What they find pushes the boundaries of their beliefs. Now, they're forced to leave behind everything to face an unknown adversary who's been hunting for them since the day they were born.
They must rise as one or fall to enemy hands.
This book contains mild language and violence.
©2015 Matt Ryan (P)2016 Matt Ryan
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
4 out of 5 stars
By Amazon Customer on 05-23-17

searching for an identity

Any additional comments?

I've had Rise of the Six on my kindle forever, but had never gotten around to it. Then I noticed that Jeff Hays was the narrator for the audio version and decided that was a good a way to make sure I got around to it. My problem with Rise isn't Jeff's narrations. Once again he does an excellent job bringing an varied cast to life. My problem was with the story itself. Was it bad? No, not at all. My problem is that it didn't seem as if it knew what kind of book it wanted to be. I'm not adverse to authors mashing several genres together, in fact I often like it, but this one just seems to be trying too hard and in the end I got the sense that the book was having an identity crisis. Is it a sci-fi book, a fantasy, a superhero book, a YA romance (kind of odd are plenty of elements of a love triangle without all the characters in the love triangle actually being present for the majority of the book), a horror (zombies)? So many of the parts of the books made me think of different books/movies I've seen over the years, everything from Wizard of Oz to The Matrix. (of course I'm sure some people who've read it will totally disagree and wonder how I could think such things, but hey it's my review/my opinion.) IN the end I just couldn't get a good feel for what Matt Ryan was aiming for. It's interesting, and I'll admit a part of me would like to know what happens next, not enough that I'll be jumping into book 2 right away, but perhaps someday.

Read More Hide me

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

4 out of 5 stars
By J. Diffendall on 03-10-17

good concept, okay writing

Overall interesting story line, though some of the writing wasn't great. I will probably read the next book in the series

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc