• by Lauren Oliver
  • Narrated by Sarah Drew, Erin Spencer
  • 12 hrs and 56 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Two girls, two stories, one epic novel.
From Lauren Oliver, New York Times best-selling author of Before I Fall and the Delirium trilogy, comes an epic, masterful novel that explores issues of individuality, identity, and humanity. Replica contains two narratives in one: Lyra's story and Gemma's story. The stories can be listened to separately, one after the other, or in alternating chapters. The two distinct parts of this astonishing novel combine to produce an unforgettable journey.
Lyra's story begins in the Haven Institute, a building tucked away on a private island off the coast of Florida that from a distance looks serene and even beautiful. But up close, the locked doors, military guards, and biohazard suits tell a different story. In truth Haven is a clandestine research facility where thousands of replicas, or human models, are born, raised, and observed. When a surprise attack is launched on Haven, two of its young experimental subjects - Lyra, or 24, and the boy known only as 72 - manage to escape.
Gemma has been in and out of hospitals for as long as she can remember. A lonely teen, her life is circumscribed by home, school, and her best friend, April. But after she is nearly abducted by a stranger claiming to know her, Gemma starts to investigate her family's past and discovers her father's mysterious connection to the secretive Haven research facility. Hungry for answers, she travels to Florida only to stumble upon two replicas and a completely new set of questions.
While the stories of Lyra and Gemma mirror each other, each contains breathtaking revelations critically important to the other story. Using a downloadable enhancement, listeners can decide how they would like to listen to the audiobook, as readers can choose how to read the print version. They can listen to the story of Gemma or Lyra straight through first, followed by the other girl's story, or they can move between chapters in Lyra's and Gemma's sections. No matter how it is listened to, Replica is an ambitious, thought-provoking masterwork.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The format is a gimmick, but still a good read

Often, if I like an author, I just download the book without knowing anything about it. So that was a mistake. This book has a formatting gimmick. If you’re reading the print version you can:
1. Read Lyra’s story first
2. Read Gemma’s story first
3. Alternate chapters—flip book style.

I didn’t know this going in. So I listen to the intro, which was a little confusing, but I gleaned that certain chapters were told from both POVs, so there would be some repetition in dialogue.

So I start listening. It was Lyra’s story first, which was sad, strange, subdued. Then came Gemma’s story, which was not exactly more interesting, per se, but at least more “relatable.”

After finishing Lyra’s, I was sort of pissed. There was a big revelation and a big event that I would rather have not known because then I had to spend the next half of the book knowing stuff that reduced the suspense considerably and made me not invest much in one of the characters. The same could be said if you read Gemma’s story first.

Why it wasn’t presented in alternating chapters, I don’t know. That would have been the best route. You get to hear two different audio narrators and you wouldn’t have felt like you read a book review full of spoilers right before you read the book. It’s especially baffling because while there are two spots in the book where you experience the same scene from 2 POVs, Oliver did an excellent job in NOT making it too repetitive. You can alternate with the audio (see the PDF), but it would be really cumbersome. It would have been a 4 star listen for me if it had been presented in alternating chapters.
Read full review

- NMwritergal

Flip book format not great in audio

There are three possible ways to listen to this book:
Gemma first
Lyra first
or alternate chapters

There should have been two possible downloads, this one and another where the characters chapters alternate. The enhancement is just a PDF of the chapters and you have to manually jump around if you want that listening experience. Also the chapters in the PDF are off.

The story itself is entertaining, but predictable.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-04-2016
  • Publisher: HarperAudio