Proxy

  • by Alex London
  • Narrated by Andrew Sweeney
  • 8 hrs and 41 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The adventure novel of the year! Inspired by The Whipping Boy and Feed, this adrenaline-fueled thriller will appeal to fans of The Hunger Games for its razor-sharp insights into the nature of human survival and its clever writing.
Knox was born into one of the City's wealthiest families. A Patron, he has everything a boy could possibly want - the latest tech, the coolest clothes, and a Proxy to take all his punishments. When Knox breaks a vase, Syd is beaten. When Knox plays a practical joke, Syd is forced to haul rocks. And when Knox crashes a car, killing one of his friends, Syd is branded and sentenced to death.
Syd is a Proxy. His life is not his own.
Then again, neither is Knox's. Knox and Syd have more in common than either would guess. So when Knox and Syd realize that the only way to beat the system is to save each other, they flee. Yet Knox's father is no ordinary Patron, and Syd is no ordinary Proxy. The ensuing cross-country chase will uncover a secret society of rebels, test both boys' resolve, and shine a blinding light onto a world of those who owe and those who pay. Some debts, it turns out, cannot be repaid.
A fast-paced, thrill-ride of novel full of non-stop action, heart-hammering suspense and true friendship - just as moving as it is exhilarating. Fans of Anthony Horowitz's Alex Rider series, James Dashner's Maze Runner, Patrick Ness's Chaos Walking series, and Marie Lu's Legend will be swept away by this story.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Interesting idea, but not very realistic

If you could sum up Proxy in three words, what would they be?

Easy, fun, illogical


What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

The general idea of proxies is interesting, but there were many instances where things happened that simply would and could never happen. I mean, I'm all for suspension of disbelief in stories, but I like the story to stick to the rules it sets for its universe. There were moments during this book when I was actually saying, "oh, come ooonnn!" out loud. That being said, if you allow yourself to just get over these inconsistencies, this is certainly a fun listen.


What does Andrew Sweeney bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Andrew does a wonderful job. I always love listening to a book where the narrator is a guy (or girl), but I don't even notice when they are reading the characters who are the opposite sex. Andrew is one of those narrators. He creates a voice for each character, but none of them are so over the top that they distract from the story.


Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

There were a few times when I kept listening even after I got out of the car during particularly exciting parts.


Any additional comments?

This is an intriguing idea, and I did enjoy myself overall. One of my favorite things about this book is that the main character is gay but the story isn't about him being gay. His homosexuality is simply a part of who he happens to be. In that regard, this book is ahead of its time.

Read full review

- Sunny Webb "I love it when I have no idea what's going to happen next."

Skeptical but then enthralled.

Any additional comments?

Honestly, I just want Audible to hurry up and put the second book on here.

Read full review

- cob

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-18-2013
  • Publisher: Listening Library