Prized : Birthmarked

  • by Caragh M. O'Brien
  • Narrated by Carla Mercer-Meyer
  • Series: Birthmarked
  • 12 hrs and 1 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Striking out into the wasteland with nothing but her baby sister, a handful of supplies, and a rumor to guide her, sixteen-year-old midwife Gaia Stone survives only to be captured by the people of Sylum, a dystopian society where women rule the men who drastically outnumber them, and a kiss is a crime.  In order to see her sister again, Gaia must submit to their strict social code, but how can she deny her sense of justice, her curiosity, and everything in her heart that makes her whole?


What the Critics Say

"Reminiscent of James's Children of Men and Atwood's A Handmaid's Tale, this series practically begs to be a book club selection." (VOYA)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

The BEST book I've ever read!

Where does Prized rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?


What did you like best about this story?

It's realism- the characters were just perfect and believable

Have you listened to any of Carla Mercer-Meyer’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

No I have not but I definately will

If you were to make a film of this book, what would be the tag line be?

Oh geez! Um..... "Could you relinquish your child to your government?"

Any additional comments?

This is the kind I book that you never want to end and then book two and three and I really have prayed for a fourth. It's just that good! And they could not have selected a better narrator.

Read full review

- Jennifer


Would you listen to Prized again? Why?

I would definitely listen to Prized again because it was a great story with a great plot. I would probably read it because the narrator was HORRIBLE!

How did the narrator detract from the book?

The narrator was HORRIBLE! I don't think I could say it enough. The reader read everything completely wrong even when it said differently in the book. She would read a confrontation calmly when the book stated ".....blah blah blah, they argued." The book says that she becomes a strong woman and the narrator makes her sound like a weak little girl who has no clue what she is doing and is terrified like a 4 year old. When she is being interrogated, the narrator makes it sound like she is pleading by saying I'm sorry like a little girl when the book has her being strong and confident. This chick should never narrate a book again in her life.

Any additional comments?


Read full review

- Shamatee

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-28-2013
  • Publisher: Tantor Audio