Prisoner B-3087

  • by Alan Gratz
  • Narrated by Steven Kaplan
  • 4 hrs and 55 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

A gripping novel based on the astonishing true story of a boy who survived 10 concentration camps. Based on the true story by Ruth and Jack Gruener.
Ten concentration camps. Ten different places where you are starved, tortured, and worked mercilessly. It's something no one could imagine surviving. But it is what Yanek Gruener has to face. As a Jewish boy in 1930s Poland, Yanek is at the mercy of the Nazis, who have taken over. Everything he has and everyone he loves have been snatched brutally from him. And then Yanek himself is taken prisoner - his arm tattooed with the words PRISONER B-3087. He is forced from one nightmarish concentration camp to another as World War II rages all around him. He encounters evil he could have never imagined but also sees surprising glimpses of hope amid the horror. He just barely escapes death only to confront it again seconds later. Can Yanek make it through the terror without losing his hope, his will - and, most of all, his sense of who he really is inside?


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


Would you listen to Prisoner B-3087 again? Why?

YES I love this book. I use this audio for the classroom. The kids like it a lot. Allows them time to focus on the events without trying to struggle through vocabulary in some chapters. We use it about every other chapter.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Prisoner B-3087?

Uncle Moshe' being killed. Such a disappointment. Also the Allies rescuing those prisoners after so long in the concentration camps.

What about Steven Kaplan’s performance did you like?

Tone and accent

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

No, but I think in a normal setting you might

Any additional comments?

Lots of opportunity for follow up research with this book and research as you read.

Read full review

- Kelly S Mcfadden


A good book about life in holocaust i enjoyed and it is worth listening to
Read full review

- greg

Book Details

  • Release Date: 09-01-2015
  • Publisher: Scholastic, Inc.