Princess Ben

  • by Catherine Gilbert Murdock
  • Narrated by Catherine Gilbert Murdock
  • 7 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Benevolence is not your typical princess and Princess Ben is certainly not your typical fairy tale. With her parents lost to unknown assassins, Princess Ben ends up under the thumb of the conniving Queen Sophia, who is intent on marrying her off to the first available "specimen of imbecilic manhood".Starved and miserable, locked in the castle's highest tower, Ben stumbles upon a mysterious enchanted room. So begins her secret education in the magical arts: mastering an obstinate flying broomstick, furtively emptying the castle pantries, setting her hair on fire.But Ben's private adventures are soon overwhelmed by a mortal threat facing the castle and indeed the entire country. Can Princess Ben save her kingdom from annihilation and herself from permanent enslavement?Princess Ben is adventurous, romantic, entertaining and most of all, a humorous story about growing up that anyone of any age will not help but love.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Not your typical princess

I love how the author draws you in to the main characters perspective you feel for her you worry for her throughout all her adventures
Read full review

- Amazon Customer ""

Great for all - from 8 to 80!

Three generations of family listened to this on a long car ride! Everyone loved it!!! Ben is a plausibly spunky character that anyone can relate to. Even the boys in the family enjoyed it. Murdock's writing is a pleasure to hear read outloud - even better that it's read by the author! The story unfolds and twists with the right blend of predictability and surprise to keep young and old interested. My 12 year old daughter had already read the book before we listened to the audio and enjoyed it just as much the second time around. This should be a classic. Strong female characters without disdain for men! FANTASTIC!
Read full review

- Susan

Book Details

  • Release Date: 11-20-2008
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio