Parables from Nature, Volume 1

  • by Margaret Gatty
  • Narrated by David Thorn, Bobbie Frohman
  • 2 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Entertaining stories of nature with a moral lesson thrown in for good measure are fun as well as thought provoking. Children will be enthralled with the intimate look into the lives of the woodland creatures and their way of life. Subtleness in making a moral point is always a strength in Ms. Gatty’s stories.
Volume 1 of 3, includes:
1. A Lesson of Faith
2. The Law of Authority and Obedience
3. The Unknown Land
4. Training and Restraining
5. Waiting
6. The Law of the Wood
7. Cobwebs
Margaret Gatty (1809–1873) was a British children's author. The wife and daughter of clergymen, Gatty's work has a moral core, but with a sweet and friendly tone, accessible to children.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful


We are doing "Ambleside Online" for our curriculum this year and we love audio books to do this because my daughters reading isn't the best. BUT - we downloaded this after strugglng with the actual book and my daughter is in heaven. It's divided into chapters making it really easy for me to assign a chapter for her to listen to. She understands and enjoys listening to it.
Read full review

- Dana

Book Details

  • Release Date: 12-12-2008
  • Publisher: Alcazar AudioWorks