P.S. Be Eleven

  • by Rita Williams-Garcia
  • Narrated by Sisi Aisha Johnson
  • 6 hrs and 10 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Things are changing in the Gaither household. After soaking up a "power to the people" mind-set over the summer, Delphine, Vonetta, and Fern return to Brooklyn with a newfound streak of independence. Pa has a girlfriend. Uncle Darnell is home from Vietnam, but he's not the same. And a new singing group called the Jackson Five has the girls seeing stars.
But the one thing that doesn't change? Big Ma still expects Delphine to keep everything together. That's even harder now that her sisters refuse to be bossed around, and now that Pa's girlfriend voices her own opinions about things. Through letters, Delphine confides in her mother, who reminds her not to grow up too fast. To be eleven while she can.
An outstanding successor to the Newbery Honor Book One Crazy Summer, P.S. Be Eleven stands on its own as a moving, funny story of three sisters growing up amid the radical change of the 1960s, beautifully written by the inimitable Rita Williams-Garcia.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

One of the best books I've ever read.

I like how the mom liked her kids. The pa had a girlfriend and got married. It took a while for them to get together with Dalphane and Pa's wife.
Read full review

- Tara1 Clinkscale

Great family read for travel

My kids and I loved this story. We loved the bond between the sisters and their family. Great reminder to enjoy your childhood.
Read full review

- Amazon Customer

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-21-2013
  • Publisher: HarperAudio