Regular price: $38.50

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $38.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The highly anticipated, mind-blowing sequel to Kiersten White's New York Times best-seller, And I Darken - the series that reads like HBO's Game of Thrones...if it were set in the Ottoman Empire. Fans of Victoria Aveyard's Red Queen and Sabaa Tahir's A Torch Against the Night won't want to miss this riveting and gorgeously written novel - the second in the trilogy.
Lada Dracul has no allies. No throne. All she has is what she's always had: herself. After failing to secure the Wallachian throne, Lada is out to punish anyone who dares to cross her blood-strewn path. Filled with a white-hot rage, she storms the countryside with her men, accompanied by her childhood friend Bogdan, terrorizing the land. But brute force isn't getting Lada what she wants. And thinking of Mehmed brings little comfort to her thorny heart. There's no time to wonder whether he still thinks about her, even loves her. She left him before he could leave her.
What Lada needs is her younger brother Radu's subtlety and skill. But Mehmed has sent him to Constantinople - and it's no diplomatic mission. Mehmed wants control of the city, and Radu has earned an unwanted place as a double-crossing spy behind enemy lines. Radu longs for his sister's fierce confidence - but for the first time in his life, he rejects her unexpected plea for help. Torn between loyalties to faith, to the Ottomans, and to Mehmed, he knows he owes Lada nothing. If she dies, he could never forgive himself - but if he fails in Constantinople, will Mehmed ever forgive him?
As nations fall around them, the Dracul siblings must decide: What will they sacrifice to fulfill their destinies? Empires will topple, thrones will be won...and souls will be lost.
©2017 Kiersten White (P)2017 Listening Library
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Ashley Barks on 09-13-17

once again I am in awe of the story

I love this story... the last book the was a lot of growth between the characters, however in this story there is really more of a stagnation in Mehmed and Lada. Radu is the one who grows the most after Constantinople. Mehmed and Lada are the cruel ones who use any means to get what they want. one through manipulation and the other through death.

The performance was super. Thank you to the narrator for being so consistent and interesting.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Jessica Tuckerman on 05-25-18

aughhhh

omg so amazing. I love this narrator and the writing so much. everyone should have this audio book.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews