Now I Rise : And I Darken

  • by Kiersten White
  • Narrated by Fiona Hardingham
  • Series: And I Darken
  • 13 hrs and 25 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The highly anticipated, mind-blowing sequel to Kiersten White's New York Times best-seller, And I Darken - the series that reads like HBO's Game of Thrones...if it were set in the Ottoman Empire. Fans of Victoria Aveyard's Red Queen and Sabaa Tahir's A Torch Against the Night won't want to miss this riveting and gorgeously written novel - the second in the trilogy.
Lada Dracul has no allies. No throne. All she has is what she's always had: herself. After failing to secure the Wallachian throne, Lada is out to punish anyone who dares to cross her blood-strewn path. Filled with a white-hot rage, she storms the countryside with her men, accompanied by her childhood friend Bogdan, terrorizing the land. But brute force isn't getting Lada what she wants. And thinking of Mehmed brings little comfort to her thorny heart. There's no time to wonder whether he still thinks about her, even loves her. She left him before he could leave her.
What Lada needs is her younger brother Radu's subtlety and skill. But Mehmed has sent him to Constantinople - and it's no diplomatic mission. Mehmed wants control of the city, and Radu has earned an unwanted place as a double-crossing spy behind enemy lines. Radu longs for his sister's fierce confidence - but for the first time in his life, he rejects her unexpected plea for help. Torn between loyalties to faith, to the Ottomans, and to Mehmed, he knows he owes Lada nothing. If she dies, he could never forgive himself - but if he fails in Constantinople, will Mehmed ever forgive him?
As nations fall around them, the Dracul siblings must decide: What will they sacrifice to fulfill their destinies? Empires will topple, thrones will be won...and souls will be lost.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

once again I am in awe of the story

I love this story... the last book the was a lot of growth between the characters, however in this story there is really more of a stagnation in Mehmed and Lada. Radu is the one who grows the most after Constantinople. Mehmed and Lada are the cruel ones who use any means to get what they want. one through manipulation and the other through death.

The performance was super. Thank you to the narrator for being so consistent and interesting.
Read full review

- Ashley Barks

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-27-2017
  • Publisher: Listening Library