Regular price: $22.81

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $22.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

It's going to be a long, hard, cruel winter. And there couldn't be a worse place to spend it than up on Anglezarke. Thomas Ward is the apprentice for the local Spook, who captures witches and drives away ghosts. As the weather gets colder and the nights draw in, the Spook receives an unexpected visitor. Tom doesn't know who the stranger is or what he wants, but the Spook suddenly decides it's time to travel to his winter house, Anglezarke. Tom has heard it will be a bleak, forbidding place, and that menacing creatures are starting to stir somewhere on the moors nearby.
Can anything prepare Tom for what he finds there? What if the rumors about the evil beast called the Golgoth are true? And how much danger will Tom be in if the secrets the Spook has been trying to hide from the world are revealed?
©2006 Joseph Delaney (P)2007 HarperCollins Publishers
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Brian O'Dell on 09-25-07

Left Me Wanting More

This is the third book in this series and the last book currently available on Audible (perhaps the last book currently written). I really enjoyed this series and can't wait for more.

I've found user reviews to be very important when trying to decide whether I should purchase an audio book or not, so I've felt compelled to leave my comments and recommendations for this series. They are great stories (even though they are actually young adult books) and are read by an excellent reader who seriously enhances the audio book experience with his narrative skills.

Read More Hide me

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Wayne on 09-06-07

Steven King for young adults

Joseph Delaney's work so far is getting better and better with each book. His stories are well written and the plot will keep you guessing till the end. The idea of having the story told by his young apprentice makes for an interesting view point. i.e. he makes mistakes and must find his own way out. Recommend also Garth Nix, and Jasper Fforde.

Read More Hide me

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc