Regular price: $27.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $27.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Reality, it turns out, is often not what you perceive it to be - sometimes, there really is someone out to get you. For fans of Silver Linings Playbook and Liar, this thought-provoking debut tells the story of Alex, a high school senior - and the ultimate unreliable narrator - unable to tell the difference between real life and delusion. Alex fights a daily battle to figure out what is real and what is not. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic Eight Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. She's pretty optimistic about her chances until she runs into Miles. Didn't she imagine him? Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love, and experiencing all the usual rites of passage for teenagers. But Alex is used to being crazy. She's not prepared for normal. Can she trust herself? Can we trust her?
©2015 Francesca Zappia (P)2017 Tantor
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Debut novelist Zappia presents readers with a wholly unreliable narrator, [but] the characters all seem authentic, thanks to Zappia's careful attention to detail." ( Booklist)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Home Seller on 07-06-17

totally shocking twist that i didn’t see coming.

lovely coming of age tale that uses mental health to push along a real to life story. doesn't make fun of mental health but shows it in a truthful light.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

5 out of 5 stars
By Maggie May on 02-10-18

Shook Me Up

I selected this book because it's narrated by one of my favorites - Amanda Ronconi. She uses her singular voice in an understated way that somehow states everything.

But the story! It's charming and scary and twisty in spite of following the usual romance (girl meets boy, girl dislikes boy, etc.) rules.

Alex is the new kid. It's her senior year and she's spending it in a (really weird) mean kid high school, AND she's coping, not always successfully with schizophrenia. Despite therapy and meds, she's not always sure of what's real and what's not. That's why she carries a camera with her at all times, snapping the hinky stuff all day long. This does not increase her popularity very much.

There are some very strange things happening at her school - or are there? - and Alex is determined to get to the bottom of various mysteries. But the endeavor is like peeling an onion. Or maybe like spinning plates on sticks. Or herding snakes.

Ms. Ronconi does an amazing job with a genre that is dramatic and funny and dark. The whole thing is just splendid.

Highly recommend.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews
© Copyright 1997 - 2018 Audible, Inc