Regular price: $27.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
Select or Add a new payment method

Buy Now with 1 Credit

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Buy Now for $27.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Add to Library for $0.00

By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Reality, it turns out, is often not what you perceive it to be - sometimes, there really is someone out to get you. For fans of Silver Linings Playbook and Liar, this thought-provoking debut tells the story of Alex, a high school senior - and the ultimate unreliable narrator - unable to tell the difference between real life and delusion. Alex fights a daily battle to figure out what is real and what is not. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic Eight Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. She's pretty optimistic about her chances until she runs into Miles. Didn't she imagine him? Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love, and experiencing all the usual rites of passage for teenagers. But Alex is used to being crazy. She's not prepared for normal. Can she trust herself? Can we trust her?
©2015 Francesca Zappia (P)2017 Tantor
Show More Show Less

Critic Reviews

"Debut novelist Zappia presents readers with a wholly unreliable narrator, [but] the characters all seem authentic, thanks to Zappia's careful attention to detail." ( Booklist)
Show More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful
5 out of 5 stars
By Home Seller on 07-06-17

totally shocking twist that i didn’t see coming.

lovely coming of age tale that uses mental health to push along a real to life story. doesn't make fun of mental health but shows it in a truthful light.

Read More Hide me

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

1 out of 5 stars
By Amazon Customer on 06-27-18

A DISGRACE TO AUTHORS AND MENTAL HEALTH EVERYWHERE

This alleged "author," a loosely used term in this case, has the AUDACITY to portray a devastating mental illness as some cute-ass quirky thing. Like this little middle school girl walks around with a camera and is like "oh man there weren't squirrels in the picture I took so they aren't real." Bitch, schizophrenics NEVER know that they have schizophrenia or it wouldn't be so hard to deal with...? Also it's predominantly in males and develops around early 20s- like did you even look up what schizophrenia was before you wrote this? LOL I have schizophrenics in my family and they have tried to MURDER my whole family. Schizophrenia isn't cute. This is a disgrace to literature and to mental health. Do the world a favor and NEVER write again. I mean, I guess you're okay with being an "author" who only writes trash to be cute to make money- way to go, congrats, I'm sure yo parents are so proud that you disgraced schizophrenics everywhere. Sigh.

Read More Hide me
See all Reviews