M is for Magic

  • by Neil Gaiman
  • Narrated by Neil Gaiman
  • 5 hrs and 29 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Here are stories to delight, enchant, and surprise you. Best-selling author and master storyteller Neil Gaiman here presents a breathtaking collection of tales that will chill or amuse readers and that always embrace the unexpected. Included are:
"The Case of the Four and 20 Blackbirds"

"Troll Bridge"

"Don't Ask Jack"

"How to Sell the Ponti Bridge"

"October in the Chair"


"The Price"

"How to Talk to Girls at Parties"


"The Witch's Headstone"



Audible Editor Reviews

Gaiman loves short stories for offering "tiny windows into other worlds" and for letting readers "make it to the far side of the universe and still be back in time for dinner." This production also offers windows into Gaiman's writing history - from one story penned in 1984 to another that shows its development from a work in progress. Though the collection is thematically diverse, it's unified by Gaiman's masterful ability as a storyteller. Talented at creating voices to express his sometimes dark sense of humor, Gaiman has terrific pacing and savors the words he speaks, qualities that concentrate his listeners' attention on his unique prose. His affection for all of his characters results in a magical production.


What the Critics Say

"Science fiction and fantasy fans will find much to delight them in this wealth of finely crafted stories." (Children's Literature)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

great for all ages

this collection of short stories is wonderful for all ages; I liked most of the stories very much, and I really do like the reading by Mr. Gaiman; he really makes the stories come alive; I can imagine him telling them to his children the same way; really a nice little romp in fantasy; not too dreadful, and some very funny; great fun; not really what I think of as a children's book.
Read full review

- Jody R. Nathan

A Very Nice Grouping

Lots of wonderful stories and poems. Compiled for children but a very good listen at any age.
Read full review

- Lois

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-19-2007
  • Publisher: HarperAudio