Jake Ransom and the Howling Sphinx

  • by James Rollins
  • Narrated by Pedro Pascal
  • 7 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Using his father's watch as a key, Jake intends to return to Calypsos. Instead he's thrust into a strange desert land where he's joined by his friends Marika, Pindor, and Bach'uuk and his sister, Kady. As they try to figure out what to do next, a surprise attack by the beautiful young Princess Nefertiti takes them all captive.
Soon even she is battling the Skull King's minions. For Jake has something the Skull King wants - a prize that will give its owner awesome power, including control of the fearsome Howling Sphinx. In a new pounding adventure, Jake races against time to outfight and outwit Kalverum Rex, knowing that if the Skull King wins, he'll be unstoppable.
Filled with unexpected danger, challenging puzzles, and dazzling action, this is a first-rate, fast-paced thriller - a read only James Rollins could have created!


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

2nd great Jake Ransom Book - Where is the Third?

Would you listen to Jake Ransom and the Howling Sphinx again? Why?

yup - I would. Jake Ransom books are a wonderful tale - based on Jr high and Sr High Kids. They use their brains to over come problems and work together using everyone's strengths to create a great team that actually care for each other and get the Job Done. Refreshing in this day and age. Touch of History, Touch of Science fiction.

What other book might you compare Jake Ransom and the Howling Sphinx to and why?

Alfred Hitchcock's Three Investigator Series. Group of Kids use their heads to solve mysteries and outwit adult foes at their own game. Great outcomes. Great Mystery.

Which scene was your favorite?

Jake's Sister sword fighting with the attacking Cactus.

Any additional comments?

when is the third book coming out? I can't wait.

Read full review

- Daniel

awesome story!

The Jake Ransom series is a really good listen. I recommend for any age. Action packed and keeps your attention. there is also a warm feel to each of the Jake Ransom stories. looking forward to hearing the next book in the series.
Read full review

- Toni L Bigwood

Book Details

  • Release Date: 05-03-2011
  • Publisher: HarperAudio