I Am Princess X

  • by Cherie Priest
  • Narrated by Mary Robinette Kowal
  • 6 hrs and 59 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Best friends, big fans, a mysterious webcomic, and a longlost girl collide in this riveting novel, perfect for fans of both Cory Doctorow and Sarah Dessen.
Libby drew the pictures, May wrote the tales, and their heroine, Princess X, slayed all the dragons and scaled all the mountains their imaginations could conjure. Once upon a few years later, Libby was in the car with her mom, driving across the Ballard Bridge on a rainy night. When the car went over the side, Libby passed away, and Princess X died with her. Once upon a now: May is sixteen and lonely, wandering the streets of Seattle, when she sees a sticker slapped in a corner window. Princess X? When May looks around, she sees the Princess everywhere: Stickers. Patches. Graffiti. There's an entire underground culture, focused around a webcomic at IAmPrincessX.com. The more May explores the webcomic, the more she sees disturbing similarities between Libby's story and Princess X online. And that means that only one person could have started this phenomenonher best friend, Libby, who lives.

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

YAY

I am a beautiful person who has a great time, and I will be the best way to get the most High Quality of a sudden change your mind and I have to go to the prison for the first time in my life and death of passengers and their families and friends to join in the New York City and the other side of things that are available for the next couple of days ago. The other day, I think I can see that the new one. The other day, I think I can see, and I am not sure what you think of a. doc, but it would be the most of my friends. The other day, I think I can see, and I am not sure what you think of a. doc, but it is a good idea to have a good idea to have a good idea to have a good idea to have a good idea to have the right place, and the other hand I have a great dea
Read full review

- Susan

Fun story, but audio may not be the best medium

Went looking for another Cherie Priest book set in the real world and was excited to find this one is set in Seattle, a city I know pretty well. Priest gives us an excellent tour of the city and had me thinking I had actually seen signs of Princess X in my own adventures around town. I wish this book had gotten more notice locally, especially from the local comic con and rather significant comic book scene. It would be fun to do this as a book club selection with Girl Scouts or some similar group. It's a wonderful YA book for mid-adolescent age but also fun to read as an adult.

That said, this book is probably best experienced in visual form, as the story shifts from novel to graphic novel. The narration is fine with the novel characters but the comic book characters are overacted and irritating. The narrator just doesn't have the vocal range for those parts of the book, which are almost painful to listen to. Casting a separate narrator for those voices may have been a better choice.

Even with the sometimes irritating narration, I was sad when the story ended. I really love these characters! I hope Cherie Priest writes more of these sorts of fantasy thrillers set in real places; she's got an amazing sense of place.
Read full review

- Yvette Z Vandermolen

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-12-2015
  • Publisher: Scholastic Audio