Girl in Pieces

  • by Kathleen Glasgow
  • Narrated by Julia Whelan, Kathleen Glasgow
  • 10 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places comes a novel Nicola Yoon, author of Everything, Everything, calls "a haunting, beautiful, and necessary book that will stay with you long after you've read the last page".
Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At 17 she's already lost more than most people do in a lifetime. But she's learned how to forget. The broken glass washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don't have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you.
Every new scar hardens Charlie's heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge.
A deeply moving portrait of a girl in a world that owes her nothing and has taken so much and the journey she undergoes to put herself back together. Kathleen Glasgow's debut is heartbreakingly real and unflinchingly honest. It's a story you won't be able to look away from.
Includes an author's note read by the author.

More

What the Critics Say

"Equal parts keen-eyed empathy, stark candor, and terrible beauty. This book is why we read stories: to experience what it's like to survive the unsurvivable; to find light in the darkest night." (Jeff Zentner, author of The Serpent King)
"Raw, visceral, and starkly beautiful, with writing that is at times transcendent in its brilliance.... An unforgettable story of trauma and resilience." (Kerry Kletter, author of The First Time She Drowned)
"A breathtakingly written book about pain and hard-won healing.... I want every girl to read Girl in Pieces." (Kara Thomas, author of The Darkest Corners)

More

See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Touching, Sobering, Fascinating

Girl in Pieces is a work of art. Our Heroine Charlie is a cutter and she's trying to find her own way, working in a dumpy coffee shop. Her struggle with sobriety is difficult because the new characters in her life are junkies. She is focused on trying not to drink but more importantly, trying not to cut. Her scars make her a prisoner of her body and they make people want to stay out- but she's really very lonely and wants to be loved.

This book is honest, raw, endearing, frightening, all encompassing and tragic- yet beautiful. I recommend it to anyone. This book is a work of art.

-Wendi
Read full review

- Wendi

This Book Will Shake You...

Would you consider the audio edition of Girl in Pieces to be better than the print version?

I feel the performance of this book really took it to a whole new level.


What other book might you compare Girl in Pieces to and why?

I would compare this book to white oleander.


What about Julia Whelan and Kathleen Glasgow ’s performance did you like?

You felt as if you were not listening to the book. it was as if it was someone telling you their story. Julia real meshed and and fit the right age bracket.


If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

From dark to light


Any additional comments?

This book struck so deeply with my own story. It was amazing and i am so happy its a part of my library.

Read full review

- Celina

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-30-2016
  • Publisher: Listening Library