Girl in Pieces

  • by Kathleen Glasgow
  • Narrated by Julia Whelan, Kathleen Glasgow
  • 10 hrs and 43 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Girl, Interrupted, Thirteen Reasons Why, and All the Bright Places comes a novel Nicola Yoon, author of Everything, Everything, calls "a haunting, beautiful, and necessary book that will stay with you long after you've read the last page".
Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At 17 she's already lost more than most people do in a lifetime. But she's learned how to forget. The broken glass washes away the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. You don't have to think about your father and the river. Your best friend, who is gone forever. Or your mother, who has nothing left to give you.
Every new scar hardens Charlie's heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge.
A deeply moving portrait of a girl in a world that owes her nothing and has taken so much and the journey she undergoes to put herself back together. Kathleen Glasgow's debut is heartbreakingly real and unflinchingly honest. It's a story you won't be able to look away from.
Includes an author's note read by the author.


What the Critics Say

"Equal parts keen-eyed empathy, stark candor, and terrible beauty. This book is why we read stories: to experience what it's like to survive the unsurvivable; to find light in the darkest night." (Jeff Zentner, author of The Serpent King)
"Raw, visceral, and starkly beautiful, with writing that is at times transcendent in its brilliance.... An unforgettable story of trauma and resilience." (Kerry Kletter, author of The First Time She Drowned)
"A breathtakingly written book about pain and hard-won healing.... I want every girl to read Girl in Pieces." (Kara Thomas, author of The Darkest Corners)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Heartbreaking, thought-provoking, and...

This book was very powerful, heartbreaking, thought-provoking, and f***ing 'angelic'!
I was soo sad for Charlie -and the rest of the 'broken ' girls. I loved the characters (and their snarky-at times ) personalities .
The narrator, Julia whelan, is/was a perfect choice! she's amazing!
Thank you for sharing and writing this book... to bring more awareness tht this is happening to our youth.
This book will stay with me to awhile ... :'(
Read full review

- ematnau

Book Details

  • Release Date: 08-30-2016
  • Publisher: Listening Library