Foundling : The Foundling's Tale

  • by D.M. Cornish
  • Narrated by Humphrey Bower
  • Series: The Foundling's Tale
  • 8 hrs and 40 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Set in the realm of the Half-Continent, a land of tri-corner hats and flintlock pistols, the Monster Blood Tattoo trilogy presents a world of predatory monsters, chemical potions, and surgically altered people. Foundling begins the journey of Rossamund, a boy with a girl's name, who is about to begin a dangerous life in the service of the Emperor. What starts as a simple journey is threatened by encounters with monsters - and people, who may be worse. Learning who to trust and who to fear is neither easy nor without its perils, and Rossamund must choose his path carefully.


What the Critics Say

"A delightful, refreshing standout in a sea of cookie-cutter fantasy worlds." (School Library Journal)


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Really cool fantasy/adventure series

It's short (compared to some of my favorites), but what it lacks in size it makes up for in content. The level of detail is perfect, the world and characters are believable, and the story is interesting and fun. This series is definitely targeted for readers younger than myself, but it's one of those that's written well enough to be enjoyed by all. (Examples of other books targeted for younger readers I've enjoyed include the Bartimaeus series, Lord of the Rings, Ender's Game, the Discworld books, the Wheel of Time series, etc.).
Read full review

- Magikarp Salad

D.M. Cornish....A New Star?

This review is a long time in coming. I first purchased this audio book on a whim back in 2007. Probably close to the time it first came out. At that time I had no idea who D.M. Cornish was, and had very little idea of what the book was about. I certainly didn't expect the rich and wonderfully detailed world that I found within. Not that I can say I regret it in the least. :-)

The Monster Blood Tattoo trilogy/series (In the US: The Foundling's Tale), is a classic adventure in many ways. There is an Orphaned boy. He goes on an adventure. Mysterious things happen. His prior views of the world are brought into question. The character grows... But the texture and detail of the world that it takes place in takes a fairly basic (though enjoyable) tale and turns it into something much more. This story has stood the test of time with me. I do not listen to it constantly, but it is a story that I come back to again and again. The trilogy is over, but I cannot wait for this man to write another book.

As for this particular book in the series, it is a gentle start. It reads as though it was written with children in mind, but for kids that are able to stomach a bit of fighting here and there and even the occasional scary moment. Nothing too horribly graphic in this story, but if you have a sensitive or very young child I suggest listening to it once first.

The reader has a very pleasant voice. Not too deep, not to high and his accent adds an extra sense of mystique to the story.

In short, this is a fantastic series that should be on every fantasy and adventure lovers shelf. If you happen to be a child, that's fantastic and I hope your imagination adds even more depth to this already fabulous world, but if you are an adult don't let that scare you away. If you like fantastical tales, adventures, and stories where the main character goes on a quest to ultimately find themselves at the end of it, then this is a good story for you.

Read full review

- Zreea

Book Details

  • Release Date: 06-07-2007
  • Publisher: Listening Library