Forge : Seeds of America

  • by Laurie Halse Anderson
  • Narrated by Tim Cain
  • Series: Seeds of America
  • 7 hrs and 45 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

The young soldiers at Valley Forge are suffering from hunger, cold, and the threat of the British army. Their newly forged bonds of friendship might be enough to help them survive. But the chains of Curzon’s past threaten to shackle him again.
Surrounded by the fires of ignorance, mistrust, and greed, Curzon can’t risk sharing his deadly secrets with anyone. Does he have the mettle to hold on to his freedom? To claim his rightful place as an American? Is he strong enough to find the answer to the hardest question of all: Is Isabel still alive?
Acclaimed author Laurie Halse Anderson continues the thrilling adventure started in her bestselling, award-winning novel Chains. Ride along on a gallop that will take you from battling the British at Saratoga to fighting the elements at Valley Forge to rebelling against merciless tyranny. Discover what the fight for freedom was really all about.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Brilliant, just brilliant!

I loved Chains, the companion book to Forge. Laurie Halse Anderson does a brilliant job of believable storytelling, incorporating accurate historical details and giving the characters believable voices and dialog. She really brought the winter camp at Valley Forge to life for me. She brought actual people, like George Washington, into the story in ways that didn't fictionalize actual history. I hope you write more historical fiction, Laurie Halse Anderson! I listened to the audio version, and loved the voice actor's telling of the story. I could listen to Tim Cain all day, and was sorry when the book was finished. Now if I could just get more than one student in my high school to read it!
Read full review

- Susan


The narrator was amazing it was like it was told by the main charter I loved it and can't wait for the next book Ashes
Read full review

- Michelle

Book Details

  • Release Date: 10-19-2010
  • Publisher: Brilliance Audio