Firefight : Reckoners

  • by Brandon Sanderson
  • Narrated by MacLeod Andrews
  • Series: Reckoners
  • 11 hrs and 39 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook

Publisher's Summary

Brandon Sanderson, the number one New York Times best-selling author of Words of Radiance, co-author of Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series, and creator of the internationally best-selling Mistborn Trilogy, presents the second book in the Reckoners series: Firefight, the sequel to the #1 best seller Steelheart. Newcago is free. They told David it was impossible, that even the Reckoners had never killed a High Epic. Yet Steelheart - invincible, immortal, unconquerable - is dead. And he died by David's hand.
Eliminating Steelheart was supposed to make life simpler. Instead, it only made David realize he has questions. Big ones. And no one in Newcago can give him answers.
Babylon Restored, the city formerly known as the borough of Manhattan, has possibilities, though. Ruled by the mysterious High Epic Regalia, Babylon Restored is flooded and miserable, but David is sure it's the path that will lead him to what he needs to find. Entering a city oppressed by a High Epic despot is risky, but David's willing to take the gamble. Because killing Steelheart left a hole in David's heart. A hole where his thirst for vengeance once lived. Somehow, he filled that hole with another Epic - Firefight. And now he will go on a quest darker and even more dangerous than the fight against Steelheart to find her, and to get his answers.


See More Like This

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful

Like eating a Hershey bar on Venus

You know. It's really good, but you're done too quickly, and it'll be a long while until you get more.
Read full review

- Michael Scandizzo

Deeper into Calamity

In “Steeheart” we learned that “Calamity” came to earth and somehow changed certain people giving them extra-ordinary powers; they were named “Epics.” The Epics felt superior to “normal” humans and used their new powers to rule and subdue any one standing in their way. Epics are not created equal, however, and there was quickly a hierarchy established with the strongest epics at the top; they were called “High Epics.” High Epics were thought to be invincible and they ruled their own territory with a god-like hand challenging any other epic that tried to challenge them; “Steel heart” was one of those “High Epics.” He ruled “Newcago, where a boy named David lived. As a small boy David’s father was killed by Steelheart and the boy vowed to get his revenge. He studied all of the epics searching for their weaknesses in hopes of destroying them and eventually joined a group called “The Reckoners,” that were also on a mission to eliminate the epics.
At the end of the book we learn that David finally found a way to kill Steelheart and achieve his revenge. He thought life would be easier after the fall of Steelheart but there are still more High Epics out there and the story continues.
Before listening to/reading “Firefight,” I would recommend Sanderson’s short story “Mitosis. It tells a little bit about life after the fall of Steelheart as another Epic tries to fill the void Steelheart left in “Newcago. “Mitosis,” is a great short story and shouldn’t be missed if you’re following the entire “Reckoners,” series.
In “Firefight David and the Reckoners must travel to “Babylon Restored,” the new name of the area that was once called Manhattan, to deal with another High Epic, called, “Regalia.” Sanderson creates some amazing images describing the very startling yet fascinating environment that the Epics have created. In this second installment of the trilogy Sanderson answers some questions that were left hanging from the previous book as we go deeper into Calamity and yet there are still more waiting to be answered in the last book that will be called, “Calamity.”.
There are some interesting new characters introduced in “Firefight,” but some others’ that were left out from the previous book that I liked, but there is always David.
Like most of Sanderson’s books the ending is very satisfying, exciting but still leaving you wantingt more.
The narrator, MacLeod Andrews, gives a good performance.

Read full review

- D "I read, I write; I listen"

Book Details

  • Release Date: 01-06-2015
  • Publisher: Audible Studios